The good (or not) 'ole days of Libraries?

in #librarylast month

image.png

Remember when the only way to get books was to buy them or go the library?

And the library had (shudders) withdrawal limits? 😱

And now we have the internet, & you have access to more books than the biggest physical bookstore in the entire world?

And you can get any book you want, instantly, from anywhere in the world?

I distinctly remember driving in rural Turkey and thinking, "I really want to read [super obscure book]" and I just got on my phone, and downloaded it. In the middle of Turkey!

Where the nearest English language book store was hours away and was probably mostly stocked with thrillers and romance novels. Certainly not that obscure book I was looking for.

As much as I still love libraries (they are still my happy place), there's no end to my gratitude to the internet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35