A Library Experiment With Mixed Success

in #library6 years ago (edited)

It is time to refresh some of the signs at the library where I work. Some time before I started, my predecessor made large signs to display above the shelving detailing the subjects in each column of books in our non-fiction stacks. Years of rearranging and weeding made them inaccurate.

A couple years ago, I tried making new signs, but the paper faded and began to look shabby. Our new plan is to use dollar store 11x14 picture frames, construction paper matting, and new printed signs. We ran into several hurdles along the way, though.

Plan A: glue magnets to the back of the frames so they stick to the metal shelving units above the books.

No good. The magnets are not strong enough. However, on some shelves we were able to use a zip tie to hold the weight of the frame, and the magnets worked well to stabilize them.

This worked for the freestanding shelves, but the ones along the perimeter walls require a different solution. Those have an almost-vertical sheet metal panel like a lintel across the top, and there is no good way to use a zip tie there. I decided to try making hooks out of brass strips that would slide over the tops of those panels. The magnets can still give enough room for the crude hooks to fit, and they will also keep the frame steady when in place. Here is the result of the first try:

20190118_180021.jpg

By the time I had made a few, I was getting pretty good at shaping them using the library toolbox vise grips and my Leatherman pliers. These were cut from a 36" length of 3/8" x 0.064" brass ordered through the library district via Amazon. I used the vise grips to pinch the brass stock, and then bent each length back and forth until it broke at the seam. Then I used the Leatherman file to clean up the broken edge. The vise grips and my pliers helped me bend the angles for the final shape.

Unfortunately, another problem then arose. These hooks are too long, and the bottoms of the frames collide with the books on the shelves! I have tried modifying them in various ways, but the results were not satisfactory. Next week, I will try to make new hooks, and I will bring better tools from home to help.

Sort:  

this could be a fun one to throw open to the readers.
a photo/drawing of the site/shelved that you want to name
add dimensions,
best workable/seable desigh gets ..... steem

Nah, the signs are made and I just need to refine the hooks that hold them. I will post a pic of the finished project if I remember.

just a though for interesting the "brains" on here.

Steemit is not showing me pictures just now, so I will check in again later for the visual aids. Hoping you get the project completed to your satisfaction. I'm sure you will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55