Church of Anarchy?

in #liberty6 years ago

Husband and I have been attending church again. We are on week three at a nondenominational Christian mission within walking distance of our house (which we close on in eight days!). We are attending so that we can be a part of a community of like-minded people near our home.

Husband was raised Christian, and believes the Bible is the literal word of God.
I was not, and I don't. I'm not anti-Christian, but I do not believe in the core tenants of the faith. Church attendance can be exhausting for me.

Here's some stuff that Christianity – specifically small church communities – really has going for it:

  • Voluntary (applies to all subsequent bullets)
  • Weekly meetings
  • Shared values
  • Community organizing/social services

And, Christianity done correctly propagates through good works.

I spend a good portion of each sermon wondering how one could apply the strengths of Christianity to small, local, non-religious voluntary communities. Is it possible to build an organization on the foundation of liberty that has a fraction of the strength of a church built on faith?

Sort:  

Read the Bible...or listen to it on audio.

Consider the implications of your suggestion.

The implications are faith because faith comes by hearing and hear by the Word of God. You don't want to see what's on the other side of the curtain?

Why would you assume I haven't looked?

Maybe you have. Some people are blind...they just don't see. Oh well... nothing I can do.

You didn't mention that Christianity done properly is also like a family where people love and care for each other. And that love and care extends outward even to the relatives and the friends of the people who go to the church.

Some nonprofit groups do something similar but it's not the same. They don't have the love that Christians have because when you follow God with your whole heart God will change who you are.

Embracing liberty also changes who you are. I'd love to celebrate liberty with like-minded people, and use that shared value to improve my community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30