WHY JEFFREY TUCKER, JEFF DEIST AND JORDAN PETERSON ARE HEAVY INFLUENCERS OF LIBERTY

in #liberty7 years ago


reposted from the libertyBlog

I’ve always said Jeff Tucker is my favorite living communicator of libertarian thought.

I've read Bourbon for Breakfast and Bit by Bit: How P2P Is Freeing the World, but not yet read his new book Right-Wing Collectivism: The Other Threat to Liberty.

Recently (ever since the blood and soil speech, oddly), Jeff Deist has also been hitting me in the exact same way Tucker does. Dr. Jordan Peterson, author of 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos, also strikes me as someone who needs to be listened to and read frequently.

I’ve been trying to figure out why these three have that effect on me, and I think I finally understand with all the discussion and drama of Hans-Hermann Hoppe this past week.

**These gentlemen provide context and they humanize what are otherwise merely concepts and theory to my overly-rational brain. They catch me right in the feels. **

For instance, when someone sidewalk chalked pro-Trump slogans overnight all over campus at Emory University during the election season, I had the same reaction that any hyper-rational person would have. (SPOILER ALERT: I did not feel 'threatened' and less safe)

It took an article from Jeffrey Tucker, who happened to be at that campus on that day and experienced the culture there first-hand, to soften my stance, and he’s helped me see social justice sympathizers through his lens and understand them better. Neither he nor I is a social justice warrior by any stretch of the imagination, but it sure helps to know how they think.

Likewise, Jeff Deist helps humanize the right. Nationalism has always repulsed me. The idea that there’s some moral mandate to be loyal to blood or soil is completely foreign. I'm an active duty military member and bleed Red, White and Blue. But I also hate getting 'Thanked' for my service and find our foreign policy abroad to be quite despicable. I think most people don't fit into the basic Left and Right categories, there's much more nuance in the world.

I think back to my sixth grade teacher, who told us on the first day of school that he would lead us in the pledge of allegiance to the US flag but that he’d pick a student to lead the pledge to the Texas flag because he refused to say it. I just can’t fathom how someone can come to that sort of conclusion. I mean I’m no cuck for Texas either, but at least that hunk of soil is close to home!

But Deist helps me understand it. Like Tucker with the SJWs, Jeff Deist explains the mode of thought and feeling that collectivists on the right experience in a way I’ve never heard before and in a way that really resonates with me. (Incidentally during the recent Hoppe/Rachels drama that only libertarians are following, Jeff Deist mentioned in correspondence to Chase Rachels, author of A Spontaneous Order, that Hoppe's wife is Muslim, which started this train of thought and also happened to soften my view of Hoppe. Also, the drama is dumb, don't waste your time looking it up.)

I think liberty lovers should drop the divisive internet drama, that's the "Team Mentality" that Democrats and Republicans compartmentalize people into.

Keep reading and growing. Read Tucker, Read Deist, and listen to Dr Jordan Peterson lectures.

​Get educated and keep pushing others to do the same.

Affiliate Oppurtunity

libertyLOL's "Divide and Rule"
If you enjoyed, Please Upvote, Follow and Resteem!

Follow libertyLOL on your favorite sites:

Steemit blog
Facebook
Twitter
Reddit
Youtube
Tumblr
Instagram
Pintrest
Countable: Government Made Simple
Patreon
Gab.ai
libertyLOL's Liberty Blog RSS Feed

We also run a couple twitterbots which provide great quotes and book suggestions:
Murray Rothbard Suggests
Tom Woods Suggests
Jason Stapleton Suggests
Progressive Contradictions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48