Regulation and Licensure

in #liberty6 years ago (edited)

LICENSE:
In the law of contracts. A permission, accorded by a competent authority, conferring the right to do some act which without such authorization would be illegal, or would be a trespass or a tort.—Black's Law Dictionary

Any form of license, permit, tax stamp or other such scheme where the government insists that the mundane peasantry beg for their permission to do something is proof that rights have been violated. It is evidence that government has either threatened to harm innocent people for exercising their natural rights, or granted permission to commit a crime. No matter what, it is an affront to free people.

Life, liberty, and property are the foundation of any discussions about rights. These are universal and reciprocal measures to define the limits of anyone's sphere of authority and the boundaries of trespass against others. This fits within the framework of the Golden Rule, the Zero Aggression Principle, and other ancient measures for civilized behavior. Government operates entirely through the violation of such rights, and any regulation scheme is proof.

free people don't ask for permission.jpg
Image clumsily created in MSPaint by the author

"Illegal without special permission" is no different from an outright ban. Self-righteous control freaks still insist that technically such things are still legal if one jumps though all the hoops, fill out the requisite forms in triplicate, and agree to whatever arbitrary inspections or other indignities they want to impose. However, in reality it means a liberty has been converted into a privilege by usurpers who employ coercive force to compel compliance, and such permission is always revocable.

Technically, marijuana wasn't illegal even at the federal level as a result of the 1937 Marijuana Tax Act. It was just very strictly controlled. There was a tax stamp and licensing system with specially-selected suppliers granted the "authority" to serve the tiny number of government permits that are benevolently granted.


Guns, Weed and Anarchy: The Road to Freedom by Michael W. Dean and Neema Vedadi. Gunsandweed.com

Control measures mean that men with guns will be sent to harm anyone who has the self-respect to refuse to obey arbitrary dictates. Licenses only mean that government goons got a payoff for their racketeering operation, not that anyone is competent. There is no rational reason to support any such scheme other than appeals to illegitimate authorities and the immoral status quo. Guns, weed, marriage, driving a car, traveling across national borders, operating a business, building on your land, selling goods or services, and every other aspect of our lives where government demands that people beg for permission are not crimes, and demands by government should be viewed as trespass.

Sort:  

The fact that we have to ask the government for permission to do something, shows in its maximum expression that the sovereign is not the people as they want us to think, but the rulers.

The mythology of representation and delegated authority blinds people.

That's true. I made a post about it, in fact, about representative democracy and the fiction of the people's power, if you are interested.

Upvoted. Democracy is always a smokescreen for oligarchy. I once heard someone say it's the latest in a line of justifications for abuse that goes something like this:

  • "I have the right to rule you, because I am a god!"
  • "I have the right to rule you, because I am descended from the gods!"
  • "I have the right to rule you because the gods have blessed me!
  • "I have the right to rule you because I represent the public will and common good!"
  • "I'm not really ruling you, because you voted for me so I could represent the public will and the common good! I actually serve you!"

Of course, they all end with, "So obey me or die."

I like the line of justifications you provide that ultimately tie "right to rule" to "illusion of self rule".

I tend to look at man's desire to rule (or his perceived right to power) as a sort of inherent characteristic (on the aggregate of course, not everyone has an innate desire to be a dictator) something almost hard-coded into most/many? human beings. I have a feeling that this is some sort of survival instinct vestige, whereby at the person's core, they have some sense that they must rule those around them to ensure their own Darwinian survival.

So, to bring this back to cryptos. It seems as though if we can create these passive structures, specifically a code-based governance structure, we can distance the flawed human from the daily grind of providing their motivated input and allow the basic rules (don't steal, don't cheat, blah, blah) to govern interaction between free people. Very simplistic to say in a sentence or two, massively challenging to put to code and will certainly need a long chain of revisions to get it right. Needless to say, I'm watching those projects that are really delving into the governance aspect of free human interaction.

I dunno, how do we break the chain of man constantly wanting power over those around him? Again, not all people manifest this way, but enough do that the whole pot ends up getting spoiled. Just some thoughts.

It's not a political governance structure when participation is voluntary. There is a distinction to be made between leadership and rulership, and that distinction is voluntary choice with no coercion. The initiation of coercive force as defined by the sphere of individual natural rights is always a trespass.

A to the MEN!

Couldn't agree more - Bless you, Steempope.

Bless you, my child. Go forth, and preach liberty and cryptocurrency!

I couldn't agree anymore. You and I have a lot in common. Love seeing anarcho capitalists on steem. ;)

I assume you already follow @abolitionistjay, @badquakerdotcom, @dullhawk, and @thepholosopher, right?

Great piece. Unfortunately i know all too well about how these restrictions hamper individual liberty. The hoops I have to jump through just to sell what is purported to be my own house has been a logistical nightmare.

Also, I love how you slipped in a plug for Guns and Weed: The Road to Freedom. Nicely done. Worms!

Very inspiring post, nice to meet you my hopefully we can share, you are an Angel for our small community and I hope I can be like you to support more ...

Did you actually read the post? I can't tell. I advise making substantive comments about the posts you read instead of gushing generic compliments. Otherwise, you come off looking like a spammer trying to game the system for upvotes.

Yes I read your article, I mean, I support with your writing, sorry if it hurt you feel ...

It's just that when I see someone making the basically same comment over and over on every post, it's impossible to differentiate them from a spambot. Make each comment unique and relevant, and you'll get much better interaction with the community.

I really appreciate your input because I'm still a newbie here, I need a lot of input, thank you very much and once again my apologies...

That's what the #Steempope is here for!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11