You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prisons are a growing threat

in #liberty5 years ago

The Justice System makes such a mockery of justice as a concept that it is no wonder people are so confused about liberty. Locking people in cages doesn't create justice for victimless crimes or provide restitution to victims of real crimes.

Sort:  

Punishment is about revenge, and revenge isn't justice.

I define justice as the attempt to return a victimized person to their pre-victim condition... or as close as humanly possible. And I recognize that justice is sometimes impossible. (That's why I sent a letter in support of parole for the guy whose bad choices led to the death of my daughter a little over 3 years ago. Destroying his family isn't going to bring my daughter back. It just wrecks more lives. I could go on and on.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86