You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cost Guard Boards Peaceful Sailboat, Detains 2 Families for 45 Minutes for a "Safety Check"

in #liberty7 years ago

Well, welcome home and happy birthday, huh?! Double sheesh. 💐

I am not at all familiar with sailing culture/ethos, but I guess there are marine customs of some sort?

Seems like your families, @catherinebleish and Alma, have a much stronger sense of self-ownership and property rights, than the average sea-farer does :-)

It makes sense to me that you'd disapprove a forced, or poorly timed, boarding of your vessel. I would, too! (Now, I would. But not back in my dark days when I still believed in authority.)

Meanwhile the folks on that FB thread show a strong sense of USCG tribalism, that's probably sprinkled with patriotism. And they are GRATEFUL for forced boardings, and invaded privacy.

It would take a very special analogy/metaphor/psychedelic, to help them SEE. That's what helped me, anyway. lol

Sort:  

Yes, its such a trip to read the comments, wishing ill on people for being alarmed that we were boarded by force. We were not super combative, or causing trouble. We definitely expressed how we felt, but very calmly and rationally, we were surrounded by kids!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70