Above the law

in #liberty6 years ago

Image

It's not that I believe I'm "above the law"; that the "law" doesn't apply to me.

It's that I recognize everyone is above the "law"; that the "law" doesn't apply to anyone -- other than those who pass, enforce, or explicitly agree to be subject to the "law".

The only people legitimately subject to "arrest" for using drugs, smuggling, prostitution, migration, or any other mala prohibita "law" are the people who support those "laws", the lawgivers who made them up, and the cops who enforce them. No one else is subject to them. Everyone else is above those "laws".

"Law" or no "law" everyone has the right to defend themselves from archation, so don't make the mistake of believing this means that since murderers don't agree to "laws" against murder they get a free pass. The "law" isn't what makes murder wrong, nor is it what creates the right to fight back.

Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Sort:  

I think the problem is that the law only applies to the poor. The upper echelon does a lot of bad things without being noticed by the law.

The problem is that malum prohibitum laws exist at all.

Sounds right for me @mmasim

Many government officials including those in charge of setting up these laws turn out to place themselves above the laws. They will always bend the laws to favor their ergo.

I have heard adults claim that kids need to "learn respect for the law." Why does no one want to discuss whether "the law" is respectable? It is the forbidden question.

I'll never respect the "law"-- especially since, as I see it, all "laws" are either unnecessary or harmful.

It's kind of like "contempt of court". I always think of course I have nothing but contempt for the courts! Who wouldn't?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09