Sort:  

People who are pretend good citizens get pretend liberty. It seems to me that 80% of humanity is not capable of participating in self government in pursuit of Western notions of liberty and justice. So why bother trying to get everyone on board? Let's just leave them to their fate and then, when the opportunity has ripened, enslave them all.

I'm not speaking in jest. I think that it's where we are headed. In my mind, the only question is whether we will have a nuclear holocaust in the process.

I just don't see a nuclear holocaust, it's not good for business. As for Western notions of liberty and justice, I don't see much evidence of those either. It certainly looks like WW3 is on the cards though.

A conventional world war?

Conventional as in not nuclear, but I doubt there's anything conventional about the sort of weapons that are available for deployment these days.

IMO, the root problem is moral (selfishness). The most dangerous consequence of this is the loss of community, which results in powerlessness for almost everyone. The "masses" become sheep and the elite become wolves.

Other than nuclear war, my main fear is that this trend will become irreversible. It would already be irreversible but for the laws and institutions that the living inherited from those who lived before us. But if these institutions and laws are not defended, they will be corrupted and eventually overtly dispensed with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85