You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Universal Ethics

in #liberty6 years ago (edited)

I follow the logic and I agree, in fact this is why I can't really consider myself a pacifist. I agree that if someone thinks it's okay to violate my consent that they are therefore engaging in a set of rules that I don't consent to and the only way to stop them from oppressing me is to remove their ability to give consent as they would do to me. This is the basic grounds of self defense and sovereignty.

The issue that I think we run into is that everything is more or less subjective where humans are involved. Some people don't see killing other people for their own justifiable reasons as murder. Obviously war is a prime example of this logic, but it extends into other areas as well, such as euthanasia.

I suppose that's the biggest hindrance that we face as a society. We can't get everyone to agree to play by the same set of rules and even if/when we do, their understanding and interpretation of those rules is subjective. It's the part that leads me to the conclusion that we can surround ourselves by like-minded people and work together to build a society that we agree with, but we can't force others to agree to live by our rules as that's a violation of their consent. We would all have to agree to recognize and operate on the same understanding and perspective of the same basic operating principals voluntarily and some people are just contrarians if nothing else.

Great post! Resteemed.

Sort:  

That's why I stick to logic as hard as I possibly can and aim for logical consistency above all else. If it can be deduced and it's consistent, then it doesn't matter what anyone thinks of me. Truth is truth. Some people might not want to look at it (a lot of people, actually, I suspect), but when you can write a logical proof for ethics, it becomes far more difficult to discount it as "well that's just your opinion, and mine is equally valid."

I think you're right though. The most we can do is surround ourselves with people that have the same understanding and live by our rules together. Hopefully through our examples, more people will realize that we're onto something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64866.50
ETH 2555.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65