Why I am a Libertarian, Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #libertarian8 years ago

Here is how newspeak liberals see themselves:

Now, here is how conservatives see themselves

If you are stuck in the usual US political dichotomy, you will agree with either graph. But if you're awake, you will see the fundamental faults in both graphs. Considering New York Times, which has broken-windower extraordinaire Paul Krugman as a regular contributor, an objective source is as laughable as considering Breitbart, which does sexually explicit acts to and for Donal Trump, a source promoting liberty.

So reason number 1 to be a libertarian: you know that no source of information is ever 100 percent objective or reliable. In fact most "mainstream" media is downright deceiving.

Sort:  

I realized I couldn't always write 500-word+ op-eds; it gets tiring and I will likely burn myself by using up all the subjects. Being short and sweet works too :)

You don't have to be a libertarian to know that, you only have to be able to read if its written media or hear it if is broadcast media. For example I am not from the US, I do not watch TV or internet news, I do on the other hand read newspapers online, I most of all enjoy reading British newspapers, you can actually see the bias these newspapers have by just opening two browser windows and reading their take on any particular news item for example you open the Guardian in one and the Sun in the other. I mean it is unbelievable how differently they report things, news should just be news nothing added nothing substracted just what actually happens. But I am sure all news media have there powerful reasons for fixing the news at least a little. This goes for all of the media you show up there. As you can see I agree with your point of view, were I disagree is with it being a libertarian point of view its more like a common sense point of view.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but Europe still sees the word "liberal" for what it meant in the 19th century - the likes of Smith, Bastiat, Saym Ricardo, etc.

Anyway, I married a newspeak liberal and he doesn't seem to see the obvious bias in media like CNN or the New York Times. He's all riled up on the supposed Russian spying story while he dismissed out of hand allegations of fraud from "illegal" immigrants. And from the few conservatives I follow/see retweets of, they are too oblivious to their favored media's biases.

I am not a European so can not comment objectively on your observation. As to the other part yes, I have noticed people are likely to believe as news whatever backs their point of view, so when I said I like reading the British newspapers, I also read the comments and the people who read the Sun mostly agree with whatever the Sun says and likewise with the Guardian. So it is really very dangerous because the media is in fact capable of moving people in the direction the media wants them to go, better said it does their thinking for them.

This made me chuckle, nice graphics. I don't like the "left" to "right" spectrum bc it implies it's the full spectrum! From a libertarian perspective, they're clustered much more tightly around diff versions of "statist."

Even to this day my wife may not say she's a libertarian, but she's a badass who despises any kind of control...maybe the purest type of real libertarian :)

even in the bedroom ;)

Anyway, yes the spectrum should look more like left and right-wing statist. That's why both usually use only one axis to represent the others' ideas while libertarian at least use the full Cartesian grid

lol i can't answer that...one of these days she'll actually join Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62