Our Forgotten 10th Amendment

in #libertarian6 years ago (edited)

A friend sent me an article by Alex Newman, published in the New American entitled, New Marijuana Policy Triggers Bipartisan Love for 10th Amendment. He saw David Knight bring it up here.

It discusses how party lines seem to have blurred for both sides of the aisle, as all walks of life are in an uproar over AG Jeff Sessions' rescinding of the Cole Memo, including some you wouldn't expect, like The Atlantic.

Even fringe left-wing extremists have suddenly discovered the benefits of federalism and constitutionally limited government — at least when it comes to marijuana. The Atlantic, for example, which has continued to lurch to the extreme left in recent years, wrote an article with a headline touting “The Superiority of a States' Rights Approach to Marijuana.” “The public wants it, and the Tenth Amendment demands it,” reads the article subhead.

WHY would Sessions be so adamant about protecting marijuana prohibition?

I certainly don't believe it's a moral stance, nor do I believe he is ignorant to modern science about marijuana, or just so dense that he still believes in reefer madness propaganda.

I personally believe it's because it would set a modern-day precedent of citizens remembering that states can legally overrule the DOJ, FDA - and in general, any unconstitutional federal policy cooked up by one of the alphabet agencies. The citizens may actually remember the 10th Amendment! And that's bad news for the Establishment.

So, you might just be a Libertarian (or Liberalist, as proposed by Sargon of Akkad) if you support states' rights on the marijuana issue - tell that to Hollywood.

Good news came today when Vermont's legislators legalized recreational marijuana - they were the first state where the bill was passed through state legislators instead of through a ballot initiative, so it looks like the states will stand their ground on this. I do believe the citizens will demand it.

And, for those of you who don't typically identify as a supporter of states' rights and small government, but you do support the states' right for marijuana legalization, maybe it's time you did a little self-assessment on your political stance. Leave the dark-side - come join us on a crusade for liberty!

Let me know in the comments what you think the reasoning is for Sessions' biggest blunder thus far - power, greed, stupidity, moral obligation, all the above?

Sort:  

Beautiful piece, dear. I'm definitely with you. Conceding on this stance, even tho he knows better, would definitely mean Sessions conceding that the citizens can actually overall these establishments. Keep up the good fight.

Great question regarding the obviously compromised Jeff Sessions. ...but what can anyone expect from turds in an elephant tent? JackAss manure smells no different than elephant crap.

I am in colorado and Cory Gardner, a staunch republican, is fighting hard against Sessions on this. He says Sessions promissed not to do exactly what he did.

Hello M. I resteemed this post. Brilliant stuff. When you cruise our blog, I would like your view... particularly in context with a comment I left today. The copy, pasted: Please give us some insight on how to get women in America to understand: Those who give up liberty to attain security deserve, and will garner, neither. The Libertarian Party has been at it since 1971, and that sausageFest still hasn't figured it out. Thanks.

I feel that a lot of women are waking up. Honestly, that's part of why I decided to join Steemit - to reach out to women and millennials in particular. Once we do away with the ridiculousness of modern-day feminism, and women start to embrace our role in maintaining liberty, then maybe we can get somewhere.

Ok... so tell me THIS doesn't capture what we are up against.... LOL
who invited the libertarian.JPG

I need some help in the "marketing department" on how to overcome this. Please offer assistance. I AM BEGGING. LOL

Haha... yeah, there aren't a ton of women who care about individual rights let alone individualism - I've given up on women honestly (not in general but as actual friends). They're mostly just basic and only care about what other people are doing/saying/wearing/eating/thinking; and are all so clueless about the whole feminism movement and what it originally stood for. I was appalled when I saw the gals at the Women's March after the inauguration - how does wearing a vagina hat running around topless on the National Mall bring any greater good to anything - we all know women have boobs and vaginas! LOL

My advice, and idk how old you are, but date older women! 30+! We aren't as stupid, mostly... ;)

LOL. 62 and have a fiance... but virtually married. We are just missing the right church to have the formality. This is how I have a family and our "PoshPrincess" as my stepGranddaughter. In the meanwhile, YOU are going to meet some very interesting single men through my network. I gahRONEtee it. I assume you see how much attention Lauren Southern gets, right? ...or Brit Pettibone. I'll filter out the garbage for you. How'zzat? Your dad will appreciate me. Yep. Are you Christian?

Congrats on the engagement! Haha, I don't have time for men, you're giving me all this work to do!! ;) Yes, I love Miss Pettibone! I'm very spiritual with no religious affiliation, kinda goes against my grain. I do however appreciate all religions, and feel that they all have something to share with the world, at least historically, but probably way more than that.

As for not having time for any men? MULTI-TASK, woman. I am allowing you to kill 2 birds with one stone. Do you realize the advantage you have in Libertavia... the Sausage capitol of America? Seriously. Allow the Holy Spirit into your life. Try it on for size. Jesus Christ came to DESTROY religion. Why do you think the jews and romans nailed him to that Cross? Relax... Roll the Bones. (assuming you are somewhat "old school" enough to enjoy the group, RUSH).

Every gen has it's intelligent women..... Problem is, GETTING THEM TO USE WHAT CHRIST GAVE THEM. LOL This doesn't change!!! S.O.S, every year.

Indeed, I agree. My daughter is very intelligent, and sometimes still has her snowflake moments, which is okay LOL (shes 16). But I just talk to her like an adult, with reason (luckily she's reasonable and logical by nature) and I know that all I say will sink in a little later in her life. Right now shes just bombarded by social media, mostly sjw leftists, and even though sometimes she sees the hypocrisy of it all, she kinda just has to go with the flow to exist in her very large and diverse school/peer group.

Baby steps with the young ones - I'd love to be able to be a role model for your g-daughter, and others like her (and my own daughter!) who just need a friendly/informative/entertaining reality check from a fellow "female millennial" (technically, I'm one of the oldest).

It used to be so simple: Give a 13 year old a copy of "Anthem" by Ayn Rand and the rest took care of itself... and imagine what it would have been like if we had the internet in 1956-76. I could only imagine how many "hits" her YT channel would have received.

Ah... I see an "in". Can you do a vid, or even a written piece on "The American Woman's Role in Maintaining Liberty"? Then I want to figure out a way to get it viral around college "kids". Why? There is an interesting man starting a Free County Project in rural Colorado.... Check this out:

Wow, that's really awesome! I had no idea this was going on! And, yes, I will definitely write that piece, maybe even
make a video, never have but I've been wanting to. I really love the idea, thanks for your thoughtful comment!

"Milly".... May I have the honor of "hooking you two up"? LOL Not in THAT sense... Get your mind out of the __________. Seriously, I am in communication with Mr. V.E. each day. Do you skype? What is your skype name? I believe he will give you a great interview which will draw much attention to your Steemit channel. Or, you may email me at [email protected]

Haha, I don't have a skype (I'm old school) but that can be remedied! I will email you shortly, I'd love to interview him! I am a mod on the Liberty Professionals Discord channel, and the guys there would definitely help promote it!

Liberty Professionals Discord channel ???????

Link me, please. And believe me, you have NO idea what is old school. My dad was born in 1917! Although he had me at 39, many of his friends were born around WW1 and some of their kids were 20 years older than me. LOL

This post has received a 7.62% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @millennia. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94