Steemit Libertarians: How Do You Feel About the Party Rejecting Ron Paul But Not Glenn Beck for the Convention?

in #libertarian7 years ago

6922002525_a9a0d9102c_z.jpg

Is this the beginning of the end for the Libertarian Party? I was shocked when I learned that the Libertarian Party rejected letting Ron Paul speak at its Convention, but might consider Glenn Beck. What has the world come to? There are lots of sources talking about this strange turn of events, including LPMC and 71Republic.

Judge Napolitano also got a rejection. You've likely heard about this by now. I'd really like your input and thoughts.

Michael Heise, leader of the Libertarian Party Mises Caucus, reported on a conversation he had with Daniel Hayes, the chair of the LP's convention committee. He said that Ron Paul was definitely interested, when Hayes told him that Ron Paul was "definitely out" because "he has no idea what the LP represents." Hayes later asked Heise what he thought about having Glenn Beck speak at the convention...

Wait, what?

You can read more details and see screenshots in the two articles I link to in the beginning. But the whole thing has me confused. Ron Paul has done more to bring people into the Libertarian party in recent years than pretty much anyone else. And despite what happened to him at the RNC, he stood firm, never endorsed a candidate like they pushed him to do, even refusing to speak at the RNC in order to stay true to his ideals. And yet he's not good enough?

I was skimming through some Reddit threads to read reactions to the decisions, and saw similar points of confusion. Some people said they were just going to leave the Libertarian Party completely. Most were angry. One person suggested that maybe it was because Ron Paul's not technically a Libertarian (I've heard that before with Bernie and the DNC) and hasn't officially endorsed an LP candidate any time recently. But none of that really makes sense to me. After the naked dude fiasco at the last convention, I think it's pretty impressive Ron Paul wanted to speak there.

What do you think about this decision? Do you think it's the right call? And why on earth Glenn Beck? I'm interested in hearing viewpoints from people who know more about the party than I do. It's so...strange...to me.

Image Credit: Gage Skidmore. No changes made. License

Sort:  

Ron Paul is my number one favorite libertarian, and Napolitano is easily in the top five. That the Libertarian party would reject them, just months after trying to get us to elect Bill Weld... I don't know what to say.

It's unreal to me. But Glenn Beck is an option? What the heck.

Would be interested in hearing @adamkokesh's viewpoint if he's around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58976.49
ETH 2502.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48