Politics

Today I engaged in some political activity.

I went to the Libertarian Party of Colorado State Convention. I was seated as a delegate and did some delegate shit. Delegate shit like sitting and listening to fellow delegates go back and forth on amending bylaws, amending amendments to bylaws, and questioning whether or not the ​ procedure was in line with Robert's Rules of Order. Oh, and of course raising my hand to cast the occasional vote was part of the delegate shit as well.

Why did I do it? It’s kind of an odd question to ask and answer. I guess it is because political force is a reality whether I like it or not. Just because I am against political force does not exempt me from political forces.

There is a market of folks asking to be ruled, whether I like it or not. I see the Libertarian Party as a voice in this market that challenges the status quo of ruling. If there is a party that is claiming to espouse things I believe in, I want it to accurately reflect those ideas.

The Libertarian Party is a political party that espouses the ideas of libertarian philosophy. I like the non-aggression principle and the philosophy of self-ownership​.

Now has the Libertarian Party been a great messenger of these ideas? Based on the candidates who have been in the spotlight recently, I would have to say no.

I would like to see the principles of libertarianism as a normal part of political dialect and to challenge the ideas of governance. The Libertarian Party provides an opportunity for this to happen.

So I decided why not spend the weekend with​ some folks who think similarly. I have found it to be pretty enjoyable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54225.25
ETH 2280.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29