[ENG] A lesson from a wise man / [ESP] Lecciones de un hombre sabio

in #libertarian6 years ago (edited)

English Version

Asking is not force

I had something very enlightening happen to me a few days ago and I would like to share with you all. For about 3 days per week, I have a gardener that comes to my home to do the yard work, pick fruits, mow the lawn, and other yard duties. The man in charge of that heavy work is don Albino. He is an old man about 65, but he sure does know how to work the bush. He is very skilled with his machete and definitely has a green thumb for planting.
I had my worker don Albino, clearing a grass patch above my home. It was getting out of control, and I now want to plant some watermelons there. As I was inspecting his work, I noticed he had selected about eight (8) mangoes for himself. You should know, I do not mind my workers eating from the excess fruits. These mangoes had also clearly fallen to the floor and he recollected them for himself. I already had about two buckets of hand-picked mangoes inside the house. I clearly did not mind, but I wanted to tell him that it’s okay to take them as long as he asked first.

IMG_20180526_112611373.jpg

IMG_20180526_112638503.jpg

Albino working hard, like always.

I started to explain to him that it’s okay to pick fruits, but that he should always inform me. He understood and asserted by nodding yes. Then he said something memorable: “It’s okay boss, I understand because: asking is not force, and giving is voluntary” That small phrase has stuck with me and that is what I want to share with you.

“Asking is not force, and giving is voluntary.”
-Albino Portillo

In a way, what don Albino was trying to summarize to me is that by him asking, he is not using force, and that by me giving them to him freely I doing so voluntarily. Our transaction is wholly voluntary so it is correct.
This really struck a chord with my libertarian principles. Especially in the respect of never stealing of using force to acquire something. I think that Albino’s saying is very aligned with these natural principles, so that is why I am sharing with you today. Continuously, I am surprised at the wisdom of old men. This man barely finished 3rd grade and has been a groundskeeper all of his life, yet he understands natural principles of freedom such as this; amazing!

Remember, “asking is not force, and giving is voluntary.”



Version Español

Pedir no es fuerza

Me sucedió algo muy iluminante hace unos días y me gustaría compartirlo con todos ustedes. Durante aproximadamente 3 días por semana, tengo un jardinero que viene a mi casa para hacer el trabajo de jardinería, recoger frutas, cortar el césped y otras tareas del patio. El hombre a cargo de ese trabajo pesado es don Albino. Es un anciano de unos 65 años, pero seguro que sabe cómo trabajar el monte. Él es muy hábil con su machete y definitivamente tiene un pulgar verde para plantar.
Tenía a mi trabajador don Albino, limpiando un parche de hierba sobre mi casa. Ya estaba fuera de control, y ahora quiero plantar algunas sandías allí. Mientras inspeccionaba su trabajo, noté que había seleccionado unos ocho (8) mangos para él. Deberías saber, no me importa que mis trabajadores coman del exceso de frutas. Estos mangos también se habían caído al suelo claramente y él los recogió para sí mismo. Ya tenía alrededor de dos cubetas de mangos recogidos a mano dentro de la casa. Claramente no me importaba, pero quería decirle que está bien tomarlos todo el tiempo que preguntara primero.

IMG_20180526_112638503.jpg

IMG_20180526_112640105.jpg

Don Albino trabajando honradamente.

Empecé a explicarle que está bien recoger frutas, pero que siempre debería informarme. Él entendió y afirmó asintiendo con la cabeza, sí. Luego dijo algo memorable: "Está bien jefe, lo entiendo porque: pedir no es fuerza, y dar es voluntario" Esa pequeña frase me ha quedado grabada y eso es lo que quiero compartir contigo.

"Pedir no es fuerza, y el dar es voluntario".
-Albino Portillo

En cierto modo, lo que don Albino estaba tratando de resumirme es que al pedir, él no está usando la fuerza, y que al dárselas libremente lo hago voluntariamente. Nuestra transacción es totalmente voluntaria, por lo que es correcta.
Esto realmente tocó la fibra sensible de mis principios libertarios. Especialmente en el aspecto de nunca robar o el uso de la fuerza para adquirir algo. Creo que el dicho de Albino está muy alineado con estos principios naturales, por eso es por lo que estoy compartiendo con ustedes hoy. Continuamente, estoy sorprendido de la sabiduría de los viejos. Este hombre apenas terminó el tercer grado y ha sido jardinero durante toda su vida, sin embargo, comprende los principios naturales de libertad como este; ¡asombroso!

Recuerda, "pedir no es fuerza, y dar es voluntario".


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88