Louisiana Is Almost There

in #libertarian7 years ago

http://www.theadvocate.com/baton_rouge/news/business/article_7b13656c-2630-11e8-851b-ffa630a55391.html

While I support medicinal marijuana, it drives me crazy that we have to go along with this license and tax model. At some point this plant needs to be as legal as tomatoes. Baby steps in the right direction is fine, but sometimes it would be nice to take a giant leap.

Sort:  

I don't think we'll ever have a free market in marijuana, aside from a few scattered black markets, given the way that legalization is implemented. More than likely, it'll just get absorbed by the pharmaceutical industry cartel and Big Ag. Maybe Monsanto will start patenting strains of GMO cannabis. That's why I don't necessarily see this as a win for freedom.

It is certainly possible. If it does happen it’ll be far into the future and even then a small group.

How’s it going I followed you from michael heises post on Facebook.

This is an interesting angle. Louisiana and prohibition. Weren’t they the last state to end alcohol prohibition in the sixties. I hope that’s not any indication for what’s to come with cannabis.

Thanks for the follow! The fact that Louisiana finally got medicinal was an eye opener. I truly thought we'd be the last state to do so. The blue-hairs in this state still think Jeff Sessions is the best thing since sliced bread though. It will be interesting to see how long recreational passes now. Interesting times!

I live in Portland Oregon. We have the most breweries last I’d checked. I think there’s a good chance we might have the most recreational cannabis shops per capita.

I moved here from San Antonio Texas. I was there a couple years. I couldn’t take the small town cop mentality there. You get the feeling cops are always hunting you there.

I came to Portland and the police leave you alone here for the most part. Been here 5 yrs and haven’t even got a ticket.

It will be interesting to see what happens. There’s currently a large over production here. I’ve heard of some growers selling pounds to dispensaries as low as $75 a lb. yes a pound. Growers want something over nothing right now.

Recreational cannabis you can get $80 to $90 ounces all day. What are medical ounces going for there? Hopefully they don’t lag far behind.

There isn't a price structure yet. The state is going through the process of issuing licenses for pharmacies to carry it. There will be one pharmacy per region, and there are 9 arbitrary regions in the state. I can imagine that after things get going the prices will be high because of the limited amount of competition. The only legal growers are LSU and Southern University. In typical Louisiana politics it is ate up from the laces up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47