Alex Jones' Show Banned on Several Platforms

in #libertarian6 years ago (edited)

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/08/06/apple-pulls-alex-jones-infowars-podcasts-for-hate-speech.html

I loathe Alex Jones and his hardcore listeners. As much as I can not stand the man and his listeners, there isn't anything that he says that requires censorship. As a voluntaryist, I am all for free speech. Speech, even though I disagree with it, should never be banned, censored, or any other way inhibited. I would want the free market of ideas to work in his case.

I was a hardcore listener of his for a long time, and I stopped listening and paying for a Prison Planet subscriptions. I voted with my dollars. I figured the lack of journalistic standards, and the way he treats his friends were enough to make a tiny dent in his $5 million dollar net worth.

Today they are coming after a very vocal conspira-tainment show host. Tomorrow, they may come for you. Truly free speech is a good thing. Censored and banned speech is antithetical to liberty, and therefore a bad thing.

Sort:  

I appreciate your reservations for liberty and rights.

Alex enjoyed his liberty and rights. But also what he is stating is a bold face lie. So, it's no wonder there is indictments against him and Robert stone. Good. Yank him off air.

I think Jones is a dangerously disturbed man.

He was banned for "for glorifying violence, which violates our graphic violence policy, and using dehumanizing language to describe people who are transgender, Muslims and immigrants, which violates our hate speech policies.""

He does 4 hours of broadcasting a day. For over 20 years. They should just provide the evidence.

Also, you can watch actual murders of Youtube. This is political.

You feel that this is an attack on trump?

I dont really watch YT unless its embedded somewhere.

Im familiar with Jones and his ties to stratfor etc etc. I find this ironic. As he is the "tip of the zionist spear."

Look like it or not, platforms reserve their rights

No, its an attack on free speech by the left. Pretty easy to see. These platforms violate their own Terms of Services by selectively banning content creators.

@chieppa1 i believe you are mistaken.

YouTube essentially exercised the rights retained.

SmartSelect_20180808-132035_Chrome.jpg

Regardless of rights, YouTube reserves the right to terminate access to its business.


SmartSelect_20180808-131730_Chrome.jpg

YouTube general guidelines
SmartSelect_20180808-131955_Chrome.jpg

That's all well and good, but they never cited what video or audio violated TOS. Therein lies the problem with this. I can go onto YouTube and find all sorts of things I find personally objectionable that also violate their TOS. It is Google's business, but I don't have to like it.

Exactly, we would do well to stop supporting them.

Im not saying this is right. Im saying its their rights. Personally, im commending chieppa1 for being one of very few that states its happening to libertarians as well.

Hopefully this act seals their own fate

Of course its happening to libertarians. And middle of the road conservatives. That is my point though. It's selective censorship based on political views. They hid behind their "hate speech" garbage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81