Liberals are running out of allies.

in #liberalism3 years ago

image.png

In all my years, I haven't had two days that scared me more than the last 48 hours in regard to this nation's commitment to freedom of speech.

Yesterday, the city of Anaheim announced the cancellation of a conservative rally citing that its message ran contrary to the city's values, which is a blatant violation of the First Amendment. My attack of that decision, in a liberal society, should have gone unchallenged - it wasn't.

The ACLU was silent.

Today, I have to admit to having been ignorant of this, it turns out that the ACLU actually did call for the censorship of a book that they didn't like. The once great defender of free speech and free expression hasn't just become weak on that issue, it's changed course entirely.

The ACLU, the organization that bravely, correctly, and successfully stood up for free speech in cases as extreme as Skokie has pulled a 180 and demanded the censoring of a book critical of the issue of transgender youth.

The ACLU isn't even a skeleton of what it once was.

Liberals are running out of allies. It may not be long before my resolve that defense of free speech is the hill that I'm willing to die on may be seriously tested.

This trend needs to be stopped now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49