Where's all the gay people? & Brief review of Nancy Podcast

in #lgbtq7 years ago (edited)

Where's all the gay stuff?

I was really confused when I didn't find a giant crowd of gay people on Steemit. I mean, I know some of y'all are gay. It's inevitable. We're everywhere. However, after talking with @sykochica I discovered there was, in fact, a LGBTQ tag it just has next to nothing in it. Problem! Let's fix it!

I'll start..

So I'm really into podcasts. I love @kadavy and Tim Ferris, Noah Kagan, & basically everything NPR puts out just to name a few of my favorites. Recently though I've come across a podcast called Nancy and it's terrific. I laugh, I cry, I roll my eyes and I learn things about myself as I recount my own experiences with the types of situations the hosts take you through. The show is fresh and heartwarming and if you like storytelling you're going to like this show.

Nancy Image .jpg

The show's bio gives a quippier overview than mine would be so..

BFFs Kathy Tu and Tobin Low are super queer, super fun and ready to take over your podcast feed. Join them for provocative stories and frank conversations about the LGBTQ experience today. Because everyone’s a little bit gay…
WNYC Studios

Start with the episode, "Hello, Hello" and try not to cry when Kathy is talking about coming out to her Mom. Try it. I dare you.

Enjoy y'all! I'll try to post more gay things so we can all have a fun outlet here on Stemmit!

Oh and thanks @sykochica for the inspo! You guys follow her! Have you listened to this podcast? You totally should!

-Chrissy

PS If you're into podcasts, what are you listening to right now? I'm always looking for some goodies to plug into my ears!

Image Source

Sort:  

I meet people all the time and by chance find out about their sexuality if they talk about it one day.

However, most people don't talk about their sexuality.... I mean there are so many other interesting things going on, what we do in our bedrooms doesn't always have to be posted publicly does it?

For me, I'd rather just know someone for what their opinions and thoughts are on current events, etc.... and not their sexual preference.

What is interesting, is that I read a new introduction post by a new user named @studentsavage recently, that wrote an introduction post as an "anonymous entity". I found it rather neat that we could talk to someone about almost anything, and they could be totally anonymous if they wanted to... :)

I really like that idea as well, that our sexuality shouldn't be something that one needs to know. However, I think being lgbtq is more than just what happens in a bedroom. Having a community where I can talk to other people who are like minded has always been important for me, especially in places where people aren't as open minded and accepted as you seem to be. So I just wanted to try and cultivate that community for Steemit. There is a culture around LGBTQ people, and its not JUST for LGBTQ people either. Allies and others can always come by to learn, ask questions and have regular old conversations haha

Thank you for your input though, i hear what you're sayin'!

I think I was responding specifically to this statement:

I was really confused when I didn't find a giant crowd of gay people on Steemit.

Well they normally don't crowd around. They're everywhere though. I've met many, and usually we all busy talking about what's going on with the latest news and developments around here... We rarely take time to compare sexual preferences. lol.

It's not deliberate. In newer versions of steemit (and steem the network), it is planned to have GROUPS and communities... of a particular interest. I think this is when lgbtq groups will be formed.

P.S. Nice meeting you by the way. sykochica already found you. She's nice, bright, funny, and friendly, and a lot of fun especially on steemitalk radio -- you'll definitely meet a lot of cool people here. Welcome :)

Fair enough. Thanks for the welcome & Nice to meet you! See you around :)

Thanks for posting this! I'd not heard that podcast myself, but I'm definitely going to check that out. :)

I've been a host on @steemittalk podcast for the last year, but we've not spent much time on LGBT topics there. Wouldn't mind getting a little time into it though.

Upped and resteemed! :D

I'll check it out for sure! If you want help curating/writing content for the show I'd be happy to help!

And dude! Thanks for the resteem -you da best.

I think that'd be good. I've gotta talk with the other hosts about this and few other things I've got in mind. But I'll be in touch on this in the near future :)

Sounds good, yeah let me know :)

Yeah I'm new here. And I think the lgbtq representation is really not so good. We should do something...

Hello! @chrissymchavez Great job with your post! I just upvoted it, and please check out my new post, i know you'll like it!https://steemit.com/life/@eluemina/the-truth-about-sexuality Cheers.

Im actually so happy to just find this post. Im still in the process of comming out, but finding any gay community online is always a HUGE help ones self esteem. :)

Awesome!!! I'm glad that you're taking those steps. I know it's tough but it'll happen when you're ready. If you ever want to talk about it, I'm around :)

naw thanks Chrissmchavez. Really sweet of you to offer.

Hey! You have been here for some time now, so have you found any gay people here?? Because here's two girls and we have also been wondering where the hell all the gays, who might share some opinions about life with us, are..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48