My Gender Identity Crisis, Or Lack Thereof

in #lgbtq7 years ago (edited)

transformers-age-of-extinction-deluxe-optimus-prime-kids-costume-bc-806720.jpg

I remember my first acts of truly being gender-fluid when I was a young girl still in daycare. They were throwing a Halloween party and brought the cheap plastic Halloween costumes for us to wear. They were pretty much a full plastic jumpsuit that you pulled on over your regular clothes, and had a mask to go with it. They brought Snow White for all the girls, and Transformers for all the boys. Since I was going to a pretty low budget daycare at the time in a pretty cruddy part of town, they ran out of Snow White and I was forced to wear the Transformer Halloween costume with all the stinky boys. I share this memory because I remember distinctively thinking, "I don't want to be a bitch ass Snow White anyway".

A situation like this would create a meltdown for any four-year-old that is put in this position. But for me, there was no issue at all. I was relieved I didn't have to be Snow White.

Growing up I don't remember ever being labeled a "Tom boy" like you would expect a gender-fluid biological female to get categorized as. Because of my single-parent upbringing, I did have more of an independent and rigid personality for sure, pretty much modeling the personality distinctions that my mother had to show being a strong woman in an unforgiving society. I was always lost trying to find who I was in this world, and what category I fit into. I would look in the mirror and not see myself as the biological female that my other girlfriends would. They cared a lot about their hair and makeup, about the clothes that they wore to look feminine on their body, and for some reason all had a weird obsession with Tweety Bird that I still will never understand.
Tweety.svg.png

As I continued through adolescence, to my teenage years, to my young adult years I found myself more comfortable relating to the urban community and hip hop music. It was acceptable to be a strong independent female and wear baggy clothes and still have sex appeal the same time. At this time I also discovered that was definitely bisexual and had an attraction to both males and females. I struggled for a long time wondering if I was actually gender-fluid, or if I was just homosexual.

During this time I also discovered that I had a strong fear of becoming pregnant, a mother, or have to deal with my internal female reproductive organs. They absolutely repulsed me and it felt as if there was foreign parts of my body that did not belong. I do think that part of these feelings are directly related to the emotional abuse of being raised in a single-parent household, but I also do think it is related with myself discovery of the possibility of being gender-fluid.

I also find that in my state of mind growing up I have always been masculine and dominant in all relationships, no matter if they're friends or love interests. I have a need to be in power and dictate to people how the situation is going to turn out. I need control over it and to show that I have the best leadership skills out of anybody in the room. People find it easy to come to me to handle situations because of my dominant demeanor and ability to take care of business. I know you're thinking to yourself, this in no way means that you are gender-fluid; I just think it plays a big part in my self-discovery.

Being gender-fluid is probably one of the most annoying disorders ( for lack of a better word because I am still learning) because it feels so vague. Here is the definition of being genderqueer or gender-fluid:

Gender Fluidity: Gender fluidity conveys a wider, more flexible range of gender expression, with interests and behaviors that may even change from day to day. Gender fluid people do not feel confined by restrictive boundaries of stereotypical expectations of women and men. For some people, gender fluidity extends beyond behavior and interests, and actually serves to specifically define their gender identity. In other words, a person may feel they are more female on some days and more male on others, or possibly feel that neither term describes them accurately. Their identity is seen as being gender fluid.

Genderqueer: Genderqueer is a term that is growing in usage, representing a blurring of the lines surrounding society’s rigid views of both gender identity and sexual orientation. Genderqueer people embrace a fluidity of gender expression that is not limiting. They may not identify as male or female, but as both, neither, or as a blend. Similarly, genderqueer is a more inclusive term with respect to sexual orientation. It does not limit a person to identifying strictly as heterosexual or homosexual. (Note: This term is NOT typically used in connection with gender iden

It was a struggle for me to pull sexual orientation out of it, and use self-discovery to just look at gender alone. How did I feel as a gender? Do I feel like a male? Do I feel like a female? The answer to both of those is no. I do not feel like a male or a female. I feel like this weird, unthought-of gender that falls directly between both of them. It's not clean-cut like transgender, which can get confusing when trying to describe to someone how you feel, or how you fit into a situation. And I don't want to fall into the category of being a tomboy, because I'm not! The best way for me to describe my gender identity to someone is if you were going to label a Bull Dyke as a gender. That would be me.

There are days where I can put on a sundress and sandals, style my hair and put a little bit of blush on my face and feel more in the feminine spectrum. Other days I want to put on joggers and a loose tank top with my Jordans, and be in the male spectrum.

At times I will even experience a slight dysphoria that is similar to someone who suffers from anorexia or bulimia. I will look in the mirror at myself and say, this person in the mirror looks absolutely nothing like a biological female.

One day I was explaining to one of my heterosexual female friends about my experience at the Parliament House, a gay resort that is in Downtown Orlando. I visited the Parliament House to go see one of my good friends who is a cross-dresser, and was staying there for a few days. I had agreed to meet her there so we could go to our first drag queen show together. While my crossdresser friend was getting ready for the show, I stepped outside of the hotel room to smoke a cigarette before the show. The people there were very friendly of course, it being a very sexually charged area, but I felt at times that people did not know if I was truly a male or female while I was there. When I told this to my female friend, she replied, "I don't understand how they did not know you are female, you are clearly female". It was a weird affirmation that I look female. Like I am foreign in my own body.

I know I can't be in this confusion alone. I will continue my path to self-discovery and learning myself, and in the meantime I will hold the label of genderqueer with pride. But I know that there's so many more dimensions to the LGBTQ community, but having an open mind to it now, I'm able to at least find myself and my true being.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

If you enjoyed my little slice of paradise, please bump that writing, resteem, tell your grandma, ANYTHING! You can even comment on my happenings, it can’t get any worse.

Sort:  

I find this to be a well thought out description of a very personal journey through life. Each of us in the spectrum has such an individual experience of it. No two experiences are alike, and yet, there are enough similarities to be able to grouped under a heading, a generic label, if you will.
My thoughts on my inner identity have evolved over the years, and perhaps will continue to evolve for the rest of my life. Such is the life of someone who is unable to identify strongly with either side of the fence.

I appreciate that you can relate and validate my feelings, and that im not completely crazy!

This is more common than most realize :)

Just as long as you understand you are not a label, that you can never find a word that describes you perfectly and that you cannot control the way people see you then I say keep exploring yourself, keep being you and doing what you are doing until you find what you are looking for.

Thank you for taking the time to read my journey. Although it would be easier to think that it has ended here, im pretty sure it only has just begun.

Seeing the transgender tag used today was refreshing because I was just commenting on FB trying to bring more of those people over here. What better place online for these stories to be told? Thanks for sharing!

I tried to base a good amount of my stories on the lgbtq community. For the past 30 years I have been raised in a society where it was completely unacceptable to be proud of my community, and now that I have finally broken free I am shouting it from the rooftops.

Sort of off topic, but I really hate feminism for trying to make boys - girls interchangeable. i.e. Gender equality.

Everyone knows that men are stronger than women (but feminists will argue this)
Unfortunately, many people do not know the strengths of a woman. (they aren't told that woman can wipe the floor in the emotional manipulation arena)

So, it is rammed down people's throats that men and women are equal, and thus it is easy to make the mistake that men and women think the same.


(sorry, that was a long ass intro... just to talk of a subject)

Men and women think differently.
Men and women love differently.
Men and women have a different set of core values.
(such as, women are afraid much of the time, while men are not)
(men are often out of touch with their emotions, while women are bathed in emotions constantly)
(women like to talk, men like to do)

So, if we actually talked about the differences in how men and women think and experience reality, then it would be far easier to understand your gender and where you actually fall into the spectrum.

There are women with male brains and men with female brains.
And this doesn't have much correlation with which sex you are attracted to.

I am just shocked that we are "supposed to be" open to LGBTQ, and at the same time we are supposed to be closed to anything actually involving the sexes.

In away I definitely see you where you are coming from. For feminism is strictly stating that men and women are completely equal and are on the same playing field when it comes to the way our bodies work and the way our emotions run, then you have a very valid point in my personal scenario. Feminism is then negating at the fact that I am even on a gender Spectrum and that really it is normal for me to act and think the way that I am. Also pointing out that every woman is doing the same exact thing.

But are they?

I haven't really put a lot of thought into feminism and how it plays a role in gender identity and sexual orientation. I put feminism in a completely separate and different box, more on women's rights for equality and basic civil rights of being treated the same as a man equally in our society. You cannot deny that fact, that women are treated completely different than men in our society as a whole. Women are disrespected and thought of a lower grade of a person. There's no way to get around that, unless you're in denial. I don't want to turn this post into that topic though, but it is a great stepping stone for a possible new writing that I could dive into. I just don't know if I want to go down that road. There seems to be a lot of egg shell dodging in that matter.

Yes, egg shell dodging. You saw how much I fumbled in my opening statement.

It is quite shocking how estrogen / testosterone completely changes the person's view point.
Like, in males the facts are more important, in females the conversational tone is more important.

I would love to see it explored... but everyone I know who does gets cut down hard by the feminist community. Enjoy

You cannot deny that fact, that women are treated completely different than men

I don't think anyone would deny that

Women are disrespected and thought of a lower grade of a person

This is what many of us would argue. I too thought women were mistreated over men until I walked those shoes and experienced the horror in how men are really treated.

@builderofcastles, at least you recognize it is off topic. I wish people didn't think of feminism every time someone is exploring/questioning their gender, I think looking into feminism would confuse them.

I was being objective at first while reading at your story until you started quoting someone that was using facts and manipulating them to make it seem like men have it worse.

You sided with someone who used the term SNOWFLAKE like it is a derogatory word. Thus, he lost all credibility with me. Each and every person on this Earth has the right to individuality, and I am a snowflake. And proud of it. And proud of everybody else you steps out of their house brave enough to be a snowflake just like I am. You should take direct offense to that based on your own personal life.

I really don't like that we're going down the road of talking about feminism when this story and my life account has absolutely nothing to do with it. Everybody's personal journey is going to be different and they're going to experience it differently. That's the great thing about being a snowflake.

You sided with someone who used the term SNOWFLAKE like it is a derogatory word

Not sure you're talking about me but...Don't have time to argue every single word with every single person, how people choose to express themselves. At least in my case I've already spoken plenty about how we should be careful with the words we choose to use, don't have to repeat and repeat to have credibility. And in the case of @builderofcastles from really reading his stuff I know he tries very hard not to offend anyone, he's one of the most civilized users around here in my opinion :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76