A year after Orlando

in #lgbt7 years ago (edited)

Saw a video today where one of the victims of this shooting was describing his experience and I just wanted to remind everyone that we shouldn't let ourselves be manipulated into accepting more surveillance.

I say this because if I question the events that we are told happened I can easily be accused of being a bigot, even though I've given great part of my life to building a more welcoming environment for gender and sexual diversities.

So I'm not going to question what went down, instead I'm going to encourage each of you to look into the consequences. For six months now I've been trying to create awareness about a lawsuit the families of some of the affected have filed, it aims to make websites where information is collectively shared responsible for the content users post, that includes this website too though Steemit is not listed on the lawsuit.

Basically we are being told that the families want Google, Facebook and others to be held accountable for not preventing a mass shooting by not censoring ideas...

I don't care if 99% of gays were killed that night, I don't care, there is no way to justify suing like this.

It's pride month so I'm going to allow myself to remind everyone about how things used to be without the freedom to communicate from behind a screen, without fearing violent mobs.

Most people at Pulse that night probably met online...

Sort:  

cen.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97