You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Non-Non-Discrimination Laws, What!?!?! Yep, you heard that right.

in #lgbt8 years ago (edited)

Thank you! I actually had the Target bathroom debate on my 'to post' list. Lol!

Oh yea, it's mind blowing to find how some people react to the bathroom issue. I can only imagine some of the comments you must have gotten on that article you wrote. Thank for you doing that though! It's important to get people talking regardless.

Some of the hardest hit are kids still in high schools. I was just reading this article this morning showing some of the absurdity they have to suffer through: Teen at center transgender bathroom fight

and another from my own state: Bathroom access for transgender teen divides Missouri town

I do have a positive lgbt post in the works, not everything is bad. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the links...I'll go have a read. My wife works for children's organization and she sees so many sad cases of kids just trying to fit in being rejected not only by society but by their parents as well. Heartbreaking.

No problem :) Yea, the rejection part is tough on many, whether from society, family, friends, religious institution, etc.. In my opinion, this is a huge part of what leads to the insane numbers of suicide attempts in the community.

Just so I'm not solely painting a grim picture, there are a lot of very positive stories out there that often get swept under the rug. To balance things a bit, here's one I'll be talking about in my more uplifting LGBT post:
http://www.people.com/article/landon-patterson-transgender-homecoming-queen-high-school

Long live the Optimists! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43