When You're Gay (Spoken Word Poem #7)

in #lgbt7 years ago

Spoken Word Poem #7

This week I wrote the poem When You're Gay, which has had positive feedback. Hence, I chose it for this week's spoken word video. I have adapted the poem (it's slightly different than the original version) - the adapted text can be found below the video.

When You're Gay

When you're gay
dating is just the same
as if you were straight.

Except,
instead of holding hands,
you walk behind him
to avoid being harassed.

Except,
instead of gazing deeply into his eyes,
you make sure no stranger is staring
when you go in for a kiss.

Except,
instead of enjoying the bliss
of a loving embrace,
you protect yourselves
from the man with bulging eyes
who repeatedly shouts
at the top of his lungs:
"The bible says,
one man and one woman,
one man and one woman!"

Then, you spend the rest
of your evening
calming down your date
who no longer feels safe
being held in your arms.


Join the Steemit Poets United on Discord

Designed by @mental-extract

Join The Isle of Write on Discord



The Isle of Write logo was designed by @PegasusPhysics

Join Die Hard Steemit on Discord


Join Steemit's LGBT+ on Discord

Sort:  

Much luv brother - keep on keepen on. Lovely show of love and frustration. I can see the passion in your words.

Thank you. Yes, this poem was more personal and emotional, since it comes from direct experience. I see myself being jumpy and moving constantly; restless. It's not easy

I hope that things get better. Opinions in just 2 decades have changed drastically - Hopefully in less time than that the next generation will not have to feel so censored about their love.

Considering I live in one of the most LGBT friendly countries, homophobia has been quite rare. There was a lot of progress from feeling inferior to nowadays, where I simply feel my love is equal. But my past experiences still remain valid, and showing them sheds light on the reality of many others, especially in those were even being seen with another man can be a death penalty.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This is good stuff but it made me sad :(

noo nothing to be sorry about I was just sad for you love :( that you have to feel that way. I only feel that way around my family in public I could care less. But you are obviously hurting and it makes me sad.

Well, luckily, i don't feel like that anymore. society has progressed. but this was my experience over 3 years ago, and of those i dated. people would not let me hold hands cause of stares, and eventually it got to me a bit too

I am glad things are better <3

Great poem! Keep your head held high!

Good to hear! :)

Great poem and great delivery. I liked your points of emphasis and your whole flow. I found it very moving. Great performance.

Thank you. I have learnt to let the spoken poetry talk depending on how it feels, and then I change the writing afterwards. It's helping a lot to give it the full emotional impact. Being based on true stories also help the emotional delivery. Thank you once again :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poetrybyjeremy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome poem. I have lots of respect for you. People will claim that the world has moved on, in reality we are still dinosaurs.

There are a lot of supportive people ;) I mean, in my lifetime, I went on my dates, and luckily, only one time was there an explicit vocalisation of homophobia. I like to believe if others are staring, it's because they're turned on, so I end up considering that as a positive and not homophobic hahaha

Sounds complex. Writing is a good way to work many these things out for oneself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71