You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly - IDAHO Edition

in #lgbt6 years ago

This is the first time I've read anything of yours. I'm straight, but fully support lgbtq. It breaks my heart that in 2018, we are still putting ppl through complete agony for being themselves. Many years ago, one of my best friend's came out of the closet. I really didn't see how ppl could think she was any different-she just happened to prefer women to men.. She still made me laugh until my sides hurt. She still had an amazing work ethic. And she still listened and supported me when I needed her most. To me she was, and still is, one of my closest and dearest friends. (More family than just friend, really). Being Lisa's friend taught me alot. Not just about the LBGTQ community, but about heterosexuals, too. Particularly the number of so called straight people who loved to get their freak on-but kept that hidden, only to turn around and judge others who were openly gay. (Hypocrite much?) I became very disgusted with alot of people who were allegedly straight, and developed a deep respect for those open about their sexuality and embraced it. (I'm sure some of all this has to do with a certain number of people who were desperate to stay in the closet but I take issue when they hurt others). Of all the things we should be concerned with these days, whether someone's straight, gay, transgender etc should be, really, the least of our worries. Guns; now that's something we should be worried about. The dramatic increase in mass shootings (and the fact that the majority of the shooters are straight white males) another thing we should be seriously worried about. Whether someone's LBGTQ? Nope not on the list. I guess maybe it's just a matter of "stupid people", but all of a sudden it seems we have a massive MASSIVE onslaught of them. Anyways. I hope what I'm saying makes sense and does not offend. If it does, that was not my intention. Peace.

Sort:  

I get the impression we have very different opinions about guns. But I appreciate your comment and thank you for your support of the LGBT+ community.

Interesting! Sounds like we do. And I live and grew up in rural Western Colorado, and my father had guns....but yes I do support further gun control. I'll be reading future posts of yours for sure!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62