You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now Curating LGBT and Transgender Tags

in #lgbt6 years ago

@sykochica, you're doing something I think is very important here.

I believe that the early movers in cryptocurrency will become the new ruling elite of the world. This is somewhat troubling, because the cryptocurrency landscape is dominated by the garden-variety cisgendered male libertarian. Cryptocurrency appeals to libertarians above all due to its decentralised nature and ability to remove power from the government. For one reason or another, however, most "libertarians" I know are right-leaning or just plain bigoted on many social issues.

It's a double-edged sword of sorts because on one hand, they are more likely to "live and let live" due to their political ideology, but on the other, they are more prone to make memes about how "there are two genders" and other things like that. Many are hypocrites who are okay with the government taking people's freedoms as long as it doesn't affect them.

I think the best way to combat bigotry is to break down barriers of communication. I was raised in a quite conservative and religious family. I always avoided gay people. I was taught to be polite to them, but to avoid befriending them and (by example) to discredit and illegitimise them behind their backs. When I went to university, I met and befriended a lesbian, though neither of us knew it at the time. When she came out to me, I had two choices-- lose a friend, or accept that these people I had avoided all my life were living, breathing people with lives to live, love to give, ideas to share, and feelings.

I am not a perfect person. I look back on my old views now with embarrassment. It was even a long time after that until I finally let go of the idea of homosexuality being "wrong". It took a longer time, but I eventually came to accept the transgendered as well. I see it as a part of my "growing up" that I had to do. I had to declare independence from the lies I was taught as a child.

However... after that first transformative experience, there was no going back. The seed was planted. I had seen the person behind the label.

Satoshi Nakamoto opened Pandora's Box when he created Bitcoin. With provably untraceable currencies like Monero in the mix, I believe the days of forcing people to be "kind" to one another are numbered. Most of the social protections enforced by government power will erode away over time. What we can do, however, is try and make people want to be better.

This is why what you're doing is so important. By onboarding LGBT people onto the Steemit platform and empowering them through your votes, you'll potentially be enabling so many of those "moral crisis" moments like I had... where someone's mind begins to change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72