You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's LGBTQ Awareness Month. Why?

in #lgbt6 years ago

Well written. I don't have much to add. I don't look at people and have skin color, hair color, sexual preference, nose length, etc dictate how I treat the person. I try to view people by their actions, and what they choose to share of themselves in terms of their mind an personality. If they can think for themselves I'll likely have a level of respect, and possibly admiration for them even IF I don't agree with the thoughts they may have voiced. I don't actually pay attention to those other dividing things until someone chooses to highlight it.

For example if I speak to a black man without even considering his skin color and I disagree with something he says because it makes no sense or has flaws in my opinion then in these days I'll often be countered that I am "racist" and only then will I look and think, oh, he has black skin, we can't challenge people with black skin, they get special consideration which leads me to the idea of what is racism? Special consideration. So generally the people throwing the label racism are often these days the actual racist in the picture.

This applies to LGBTQ, Religion, etc. I find it interesting that people that challenge Muslim ideology are often called racist, when that has nothing to do with race. Islam is not a race.

Sort:  

Yes, you're right. I realise, thanks to the way you put it, that in each case it is really nothing more than the art of misdirection. Throw an outrageous accusation at someone, attacking their character, and any observers(which would include the subject's own rational mind) will no longer be paying attention to how irrational the position is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75