Why I should be a curator to the LGBTQIA community

in #lgbt6 years ago

images (6).jpg

Thanks to @sykochica for bringing up this topic about the LGBTQ it's quite amazing having to speak on this . I'm Ken Franklin Nwachukwu and I believe in a thing called free well, I believe someone's sexual orientation shouldn't be a problem to others, It's yours heart so you can choose to love who ever you want to love plus the heart wants what it wants. In most countries being a part of the LGBTQ is like a dead zone. I'm from Nigeria so let me speak based on what's happening over here
In Nigeria, Identifying yourself as part of the LGBTQ community is a suicide mission over here which is so unfair.
The LGBTQ in Nigeria lives in fear, and are always harassed, if you're a little bit feminine then you are in trouble the police can pick you up at anytime and you'll ending up paying certain amount to get yourself out for that instance.
I'm not that old in Steemit but I've had certain experience as a curator.

What I'll do with the delegated steem power

images (4).jpg

Firstly, most LGBTQ's are scared of making posts about the community because of the stigma attached to it and again they feel most persons won't like it and for that they won't be upvote rather they might get flagged or even worst.
With the delegated steem power I'll endeavour to upvote all LGBTQ related posts and also with that level of steem power I can run a campaign and also Contests about the LGBTQ community therefore getting much persons to be involved in the community and making it possible for people to air their view about the community.
With the contest most lgbt won't be in the closet anymore there'll be free to express theirselves.





Sort:  

@cadwell, I am glad that you are brave and confident enough to share your story proudly despite the potential consequences.

I would love to hear more about your community and how LGBTQ+ find expression and connection in such a hostile community. Where do you socialize? How often do you encounter other LGBTQ people? Is there anything the digital community can do to support you all living freely?

we dont socialize anywhere , the last time some members of the community gathered together to celebrate they were all arrested by the police and charged to court. they were later placed on bail with the sum of over $2000

I hope you have the opportunity to share more about your personal experiences. I can't imagine what it would be like coming from a country like Nigeria with the challenges that come along with being LGBT there. Congrats on the Steem Power!

Thanks alot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69437.40
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83