LGBT rights

in #lgbt7 years ago

It is the first timeI wrote about this topic before, though my friends know what I think about it and how I care about the rights of the LGBT+ community. But I still think that visibility is necessary and I don't want to miss the chance to put my two cents in.

The video below is an experiment made in the Chueca district of Madrid in a fictional situation where a gay couple asks for help to random passersby. Many people in the comments say that it's a fake, that Spanish people simply can't speak English fluently and so this must be a piece perfectly orchestrated by actors.

You know what? I don't care if it is fake, and personally I believe the reactions are genuine. When asked to translate a nasty homophobic message, the subjects of the experiment on the video simply can't keep on doing the task. They are shocked. Some of them on the verge of tears. And all of them encourage the couple to inform the authorities about this discriminating situation they are going through. A few even offer their help with the process of reporting the offence.

What I care about is that this video shows how people are ready to fight for other people. That they feel hurt even if the attack is not directly aimed at them as individuals. That empathy is what makes them act against a sick person who judges two people's right to love each other. That they are willing to build a society where everyone can feel safe expressing their love.

I've never been part of a situation like the one tested in the video, most probably because heterosexual love is not a crime anywhere in the world. But I can't understand why there are countries, governments and people claiming that homosexual love is unnatural, and thus should be banned. I have never been affected by this kind of discrimination, but it hurts all the same.

The sample in the video is for sure biased (this "random" people are living in a big city, they are young-ish, they speak decent English... so they are probably more open-minded and better educated than their rural, older or less educated counterparts), and of course the video was edited to show only the reactions that matter for the cause. But I'm proud of those heroes who try and protect the weakest. I'm proud that examples of this positive behaviour can be found in my country.

I'm also aware that there is a lot of work to do. And that's why Gay Pride is necessary. Visibility is key for acceptance. So go celebrate diversity. Go fight for your rights, that are indeed the rights of the whole society, not just the rights of a minority. I will always fight and be there for anyone who needs help and/or understanding too.

And don't ever give up. The world will soon be a better place for everybody, because love always wins. 💖

https://www.facebook.com/SpanishRevolution/videos/1149865671768899/
[sorry I still can't manage to insert a video here]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59