You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s see if we can discuss transgender issues without name calling. I think we can!

in #lgbt6 years ago

At 6 years old, he/she is not a man or a woman, he/she is a child. In the up to 12 years before he/she becomes an adult, many things may change.

No, but he or she is probably a boy or a girl.

I'm all for acceptance of everybody's gender / sexuality, whatever it may be, but it scares me that people think it's normal for a child to decide they are trans at such a young age.

Did you wait until you were 18 to decide if you were a boy or a girl?

Sort:  

Since my answer is "no, I never thought about it" I'm guessing that the point you're making is that someone who never had to think about it wouldn't understand. Point taken, and thanks for doing it politely. My point, which maybe was made clumsily, was that a decision made at such a young age might be changed later on. I accept that it also might not be, and maybe I didn't make that clear.

The point I'm making is that you knew whatever it is you knew long before you were 18, just like that trans kid. The point I'm making is that there is a diverse spectrum of human experiences, and good for it 'cause homogeneity would soon lead to the extinction of our species.

The point I'm making is that it's not a decision; or at least if it is, what I considered clumsy was the implication that it is a decision with as much consideration as whether or not to take an umbrella today.

Who made that inference? I didn't. What I said was that any child that identifies as a different gender to their biology deserves respect, understanding and support. But that, from the outside, we don't know whether a child truly is trans, or whether they think they are for some other reason, or whether they are somewhere different on the LGBT spectrum, or any number of possibilities. So there needs to be space for the possibility of that changing later on. That isn't denying or abusing trans children. Respect everybody wherever they are on their life journey, and be able to talk about it openly, that's all I'm asking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58216.77
ETH 3142.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23