Flag Abuse and a Humanitarian CrisissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lgbt7 years ago (edited)

religion.jpg

Steem community. I'm a minnow, but was delegated some SP to help with bandwidth issues so I can help curate LGBT content. I didn't deserve this, am quite content to earn my votes and followers organically, and @sykochica is amazing for trusting me with it after only a few days.

Now, I have used some of this to flag obvious hate speech here and here and here calling for the eradication of LGBT people. I think this is an appropriate use of a downvote. Correct me if I'm wrong.

@fahrizalarif1995 has responded by downvoting my posts here and here in retaliation, even though there is nothing objectionable (as far as I can tell) in them and I'm certainly going to advocate against unprovoked aggression and mass-murder every single time.

I'm not sure what recourse I have, or even should have, against obvious abuse of the flag. I suppose I can only ask the community, and specifically the #LGBT community and its allies, for support.

There is an obvious humanitarian crisis occurring in Aceh, Indonesia, reported by CNN, Reuters, BBC, and ABC Australia as recently as yesterday, but most of the content I see on Steemit about it is in full support of this ongoing atrocity.

<center?

Please do not let these hateful bigots win. I appreciate your support, but the people in Aceh being persecuted need it far more than I do.

Regards.

Sort:  

I'm not fucking asking for basic human decency. I'm taking it.

So happy we are all coming together on this, i feel like word is spreading. Don't lose hope, hang in it we are working against a small tide you matter, and your not alone.

Add this to the list.

LGBT+ people need a voice! Steemit is international and therefore we should be standing up against all the bigotry in the world together. Thank you for making this post and doing such a great job curating and flagging. I'm sorry that your posts are being flagged unfairly.

I appreciate the support. Honestly I'm wondering if it's even worth it, if a mob can flag my posts into oblivion whether or not there's any reason beyond retaliation to do so. If they get hidden or downvoted to $0, what am I doing here? I pick my battles, but I'm not going to put time and effort and possibly blood into something that can only be a losing endeavor.

No! You cant give up! These bigots want you to do that. Its why you have to show them your stronger than they are. If only there were more dolphins and whales to join our side we could balance things out. Hang in there and keep posting! We will win!

Also there is an LGBTQI channel in the Pal Discord server. you should join
http://minnowsupportproject.org/discord/

Community policing of hate speech like the stuff you downvoted is, to my mind, exactly what downvoting is good for. I mean, downvoting plagiarism and such is good and well, but curbing rampant hate is much more important.

If it was just "Allah hates LGBT", I would have ignored it or at most just laughed at it. Advocating "eradication" is crossing the line, and they are not only calling for violence, they are committing acts of violence and bragging about it on Steemit.

Yes, I looked at the last one you shared, with Google translate, and was utterly horrified.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47