1st Blog Post. Let's GET IT ON!!!

in #levelup2477 years ago

Alright, today's a big day. I don't know what a blog is or how it's done but who cares? There's no more thinking about it, it's time to start DOING!

My name is Rene Vela, Jr. though my friends and family call me "Bo." I like to think I was nicknamed after the Great "Bo" Jackson; the amazing athlete who played in the MLB full time as well as in the NFL as a "hobby." If you've never heard of him, check him out sometime, I promise you'll be impressed. "Bo" is pictured below.

Bo_Jackson_large.jpg
(The one the only Bo Jackson)

Well, a little about me. I'm a father of 4 beautiful children and a husband to my gorgeous wife. I provide for my family by practicing law. My firm works in personal injury as well as criminal defense. I've been an attorney for 12 years now.

I come from a very successful family and have been blessed myself with many successes both professionally and personally. And one of the reasons my family has been successful is the fact that we make a very concentrated effort on giving back to our community. I personally participate in the Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) program. I had a little brother from his freshmen year in high school up and until now, as a firefighter working in Beaumont, Texas. Unfortunately, though, due to my expanding profession and growing family, I have had to reduce my time with BBBS extensively.

IMG_4528_large.jpg
(Me with my "little" Ian having lunch.)

Though my ability to participate has been reduced, my desire to help those less fortunate than me has only grown. Enter LevelUp247.

This company is a passion project for me. Aimed at our disenfranchised youth. Those kids that don't have what I had. The kids that live in broken homes. Those kids that have no direction and no clue. I'm directing my efforts towards those kids that see no way out. That believe the light at the end of the tunnel is not success but rather an approaching train.

I want those kids to succeed. I want those kids to understand that they, too, are champions. That they, too, can make their life better. To create the reality they want to create. Not the one dictated by unfortunate circumstance.

I believe I was able to mentor my "little" pictured above. I believe that my time, my guidance, my efforts to push him towards his goals put him in a place where he will find success. I hope one day he can confirm that himself but, man, he didn't have a clue. And I truly believe that I helped him get to a spot where he can WIN. Where he can SUCCEED. Where he can be PROUD.

And I think I can help others. But unlike BBBS where I can only help one person at a time on their schedule, I think I can help HUNDREDS at a time, on MY schedule. And that's what this is all about; helping, guiding, and pushing our youth to success.

So not only do I want to help through this blog but I'm also going to create a YouTube Channel so the kids can see me, hear me, and let me guide them through video. I have ordered the equipment and hope to shoot some video by the end of May 2017.

I'm also open to ideas you may have. I'm going to pick a topic that I think would help a young person and explain to them my advice, my experiences so to help guide them to a better way. So any ideas would be awesome.

At the end of the day, this project serves 2 purposes: to help provide for my family and to help others get to a place where they can provide for theirs. My company offers high quality, motivational products to those that want to make a difference in their life. Additionally, I provide my time and efforts on mentoring and guiding our youth.

As a bonus, I will select a lucky participant every month and provide a free product to him or her. So you see, we can support each other. So stay tuned to my blog and look out for my videos. I believe our youth is our future. So let's invest in them together!

Thank you for your time and I hope you can support LevelUp247 where we GET BETTER DAILY!

Sort:  

My first comment.

Welcome, I hope you can achieve your aims in helping people, pushing them to sign up here could make a big difference to their lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51