An Open Letter To My Long Distance Best Friend

in #letter8 years ago

You wanted me to write one about you so here goes.

  A few weeks ago, we said goodbye. The next morning you were on a flight to the other side of the country. I remember the night we said goodbye. You walked into the room and immediately broke down into tears on the couch. I didn’t think I was going to cry; you know how I never cry in public. But just like dominoes, your tears lead to the other girls tears and eventually you broke me down too. I mean, it never really hit me until now. I enjoy living in denial, it allows to avoiding dealing with the hard things like you leaving. But now here you are, thousands of miles and a three hours’ time difference away.
 

 It’s weird to think that for these past few weeks I haven’t seen you every day. It’s even weirder to think that I won’t see you in person until Christmas. I mean, who does that to a best friend? Leave her behind like that? But I’m not mad, it’s just sad to think that there’s no way I can get to you when I’m being crazy and need you to be honest with me about my craziness. You really are the person who knows me best. You were right by my side for my first heartbreak, and my second and third. Remember that song, "Almost Lover" by A Fine Frenzy? And remember the countless sleepovers with ice cream and movies. We could never quite agree on what to watch but I commend you for sitting through Tarzan and Anchorman with me, even though it was only once. Remember those times you would come over after school and all we would do was nap on the couch? It seemed like we could be entirely boring around each other but we also had the craziest times. And remember those fights we had? They were always over stupid things like boys or things we said to each other when we took the friendship for granted. There were times that I nearly hated you, and I know you did too. But it’s funny how things work out. Because in the end, we ended up closer than ever, even though you’re far away.


 I remember freshman year, when we met. I had a feeling our friendship would last and look at that, it has. I’m glad I didn’t let you push me away. Because, honestly, you taught me so much. You taught me to fight for myself, to fight for what mattered and not to give up on something just because I was angry or it got hard. You taught me the people worth fighting for will fight along with you, unlike those who give up long before you do. I know college means moving apart but I never wanted you to go this far, though I know it’s what you needed and you belong there. But, don’t think for a second that this distance means you’re getting away from me. You’re the one person who knows me best and I believe you’ll know me best for a long time. You’ve grown up by my side and I’ve learned so much from you. So I know why it is you left. I needed to learn one more thing, how to live life without you just ten minutes away. And I think you’ll be proud of how well I’m doing, though it’s been hard. And I hope you’re doing well, too.


 Love,

You friend. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44