A Message To My Younger Self

in #letter8 years ago

I have seen many articles and videos about a message to your younger self. I think it is always such a good thing to look back, and reflect on how much we have changed over the years. A couple of weeks ago, I celebrated my nineteenth birthday, and it is crazy that this year is my last year of being a teenager, so this little article is some things I wish I knew back when I was in middle school and high school.

One thing that I have learned is that its okay to let go of friends. In the beginning of my freshman year of high school, I had so much friends, and it was such a great thing. But after that year, most of my friends and I went our separate ways. Some went to different schools, but some did reamain. Just like the seasons, people change. I had a friend that I thought I knew how she was, but in the end, I didn’t know anything about her. It was like our whole friendship was a complete lie. It’s sad to think that you knew someone, but it’s for the better. You will get through it, and you will be a better person because of it. Don’t forget about those friends that have been there for you through thick and thin. Those friendships are the ones that I hold near and dear to my heart.

The next thing on the list is boys. Don’t get me wrong, I love boys. It’s kind of funny. When I was younger, I always thought that by the time I was nineteen, I would have a boyfriend, and everything would be roses and butterflies. In the first paragraph, I said that my birthday pasted and I turned nineteen. I have never been in a relationship, I have never kissed a boy, and I have never had a guy interested in me, I don’t think. But it’s fine! I sometimes I feel like some girls think that they need to be in a relationship to feel complete. But girls, you do not need a man to define who you are, or to make you feel complete. You are created in a way that already makes you complete without anyone. For me, I am fine being single. I know so many people that have been in rocky relationships, that ultimately end in catastrophe. I, personally, do not want that. I want a relationship that will last a lifetime, not just a couple of weeks or months. I want so much in a future mate, that I am willing to wait. I am in no rush. I will wait until I find the ultimate happy ending, and I encourage you to do so to.

Another thing on the list, is body image. I know I am not the only one who suffers from this. Body image this such a touchy subject that most girls struggle with. I know for me when I was younger, I struggled immensely with this issue. It took me a long time to start loving myself and my body. I still struggle with it till this day, but I know now that I am beautiful just the way I am.

The last thing on my list, is just to be yourself. When I was younger, I felt like I needed to be a certain way to get along with others. I am somewhat of a shy person, so sometimes it gets hard for me to go up and start a conversation with certain people. I have learned that I shouldn’t be nervous to talk to others because their opinion doesn’t matter. The only thing that should matter, is what you think of yourself. I think that I am strong, and able to do whatever I set my mind to do. I have changed quite drastically since I’ve been thirteen, but change is not something we should fear. Changed should help us grow more into the person we are meant to be.


Image Credit: Ashlyns

Sort:  

Belated Happy Birthday! That's a good sense of reality for 19 years old. Keep learning from yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50