You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Genius of Sheep: LMAC #12

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

Wonderful!
Thank you for this enlightenment about sheep and their intelligence. Your background research is always the cream on the ice. Herd animals are fascinating to watch for us humans. Maybe because we are herd creatures, too. While there seems to be no change in leadership with sheep, there is always only one leading sheep, it is a little different with us humans, isn't it? The one who has the appropriate ability and experience for the situation takes the lead. Whoever descends a torrential river needs an experienced river guide who in turn follows someone experienced, the expert engineer with whom one enters a technical facility, etc.

I don't think there really is any stupidity among animals, because they have adapted over the course of evolution and do what they do because it makes sense.
However, the way in which animals are kept in large numbers is something that, if you think about it, makes it impossible for the animals to act and make decisions of their own and could lead to stultification if you do so over a relevant period of time, in other words: the animals do not follow their natural instincts and, for example, starve to death when raised and fed by humans.

I watched the video at the end and like the way the Icelandic woman talks about sheep. She has a certain admiration for this particular type of sheep. How nice that there are such places and such people!

Your collage is an eye-catcher and I especially found the plane a good idea! It doesn't fit into the scenery at all and that's why I like it.

Sort:  

Dear Erika, thanks for coming by. You know these little art projects delight me. Even when I'm not feeling well, they offer relief. You do the same with origami, I think. I notice a great variety in skill level in the contest, so I'm not embarrassed to put mine up. Plus, I work on the blog, so at least my effort is sincere.
Yes, the sheep are fascinating. I've been reading up on them some more since I finished the blog.
One of the things you and I have in common is a respect for animals and their right to dignity. We don't underestimate their sentience, or value as beings. That's just something you can't get beyond once you see it.
I'm looking forward to your next blog. Have a wonderful Sunday.

Thank you. Another Tuesday already arrived. :)
I will go and have a look at the other collages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55