You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perils of the High Seas: The Phoenicians, for @Shaka's LMAC Contest #28

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

@agmoore, my friend, your blog is a fountain of information! :)

What a nice surprise to see that your creative collage this week was based on a location in Portugal. I like that you chose the Phoenician traders context to talk about Lagos. I was intrigued by so many facts you presented here.

Of course, chief among them is the possibility that Phoenicians sacrificed their infants in religious rituals. I wouldn't be surprised if that was indeed the case! This reminds me of Niño del Cerro Plomo, if you are not familiar with him, I trust he would spark your interest my friend.

Niño Cerro El Plomo.jpg

source

This is an Inca child, who was part of a religious ritual, the body was found not very far from Santiago Chile. It is kept in Chile's National History Museum :)

As for your collage, it looks like the result of a thoroughly thought-through process. I am glad that you kept the woman , and I love the life the flow and movement of those animals bring to that image. Wonderful as always <3

Much love to you from cloudy, rainy Portugal :*
With infinite affection & respect.

Your Brazilian Friend in Portugal.

Sort:  

Dear Abigail,
You are really kind 😇 That collage kept getting away from me, but I wouldn't give up. In the end, it does tell a story, though perhaps awkwardly. Still, I learned from playing around.

It was a delight to write about Portugal. Of course I thought of you. But also, I've had a soft spot for the Portuguese ever since a young man helped me out on a train in Europe many many years ago. I was traveling with a friend, and we were so green. We had to stand for hours and he did too. Our suitcases were much too large. We didn't know where to get off. Just so green. He took us in hand. Carried our suitcases off the train and directed us when we reached Madrid. Then he got back on the train and continued to his destination in Portugal. That moment stayed with me, his grace.

I am fascinated by the Inca child, and touched. History is wonderful that way. Connects us across centuries and cultures. Shows the common bond between all peoples.

As always, you warm my heart with your generous comment. Harried morning here, but peace and contentment now as I write to my friend in Portugal.

Love and Respect,
AG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64721.74
ETH 2633.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82