How do you find a good place to eat?

in #letseat6 years ago (edited)

I have spent a lot of time in new countries, trying foreign foods and searching for places to eat.

The most effective technique I have found is to follow my nose and take a look.


Let’s Eat is not exactly a restaurant review app.

Let's Eat will help you follow your nose and take a look. We don’t want you to have to spend time researching for the “best” place to eat all the time, cross checking this site with that app.... I am falling asleep already and just getting hungrier :)

We want finding a great place to eat to be easy and quick so we list places nearby and at the top of the list we put reviews by other Steemians. You can take a quick look to see what is near you, the use your nose.
Did I mention this is all on the Steem Blockchain. Thats right you can get upvotes and earn Steem for using this app.

The vision for Let’s Eat is to help you find places on the go when you can hear that Rumble Dumble!

The Experience

On my last few foreign trips I have always searched for cafes that accept Cryptocurrency. Not because I want to spend any (I am a HODL’R) but because these places are usually interesting places to visit and the people are friendly. The places are often a bit edgy, have character and a great atmosphere. I go for the experience.

Do you think the food discovery experience has been diluted with travel guides and review apps?
We are looking to bring a different take with Let’s Eat.

Let’s take the OTT planning out of travel and bring back an element of chance encounters and discovery.

Let’s Eat will grow to be a crowdsourced repository of restaurants and honest reviews made on the go while the experience is still fresh.

So how do you write a good review?

Let's Eat gives people the freedom to write about their experience honestly, and in any language on the Steem Blockchain. You can review a restaurant, cafe, food stall, deli, ... pretty much anything (food related) and the app pins the location to the map to help other people find it.

A review could be as simple as a photograph, but the more information to help other hungry travellers choose the better.

We have structured the app to let people write a short description, include some photographs and some information fields which are generally useful.

What we look for

This review by @chefvince is a great example of a useful review.

Description

He describes the food and the service.

Photos

He includes a few pictures which would help other people see the style and quality of food and place.

Fields

He has completed all the information fields.
We will improve these fields adding more possibilities as we move through beta but the current fields are very useful information for other travellers to have.

Daily Upvotes

Our daily upvotes will vary depending on the quantity of reviews and how much Steem Power we have. (We are looking for delegation), but the general principle will be to reward posts more that are making more of an effort.

Spread the Steem

I hope you try out Let’s Eat this week. Most people have been using it for lunch places, so this week when you are out with your work colleagues you might like to tell your friends at work about Steemit.

You can download the beta app from the plays store

Delegation

We are looking for delegation to @letseat to support people using the app.
If you feel like delegating to support this project I would be happy to discuss how your votes will be used and how the votes will be used to develop the app further.

How will you find a good place to eat?

The Steem Blockchain of course!



Sort:  

I love this App

I often used @letseat to share restaurants and many delicious foods in Taiwan.
Share menu and get STEEM.

Thank you @eroche for developed great of APP

I believe this app should receive delegation from Steemit, Inc. Although I have seen more generic apps - post anything you want - this applications is not greedy and choose to focus on a specific area - reviews.

Although I don't have much, I'd like to delegate to this project. Just a suggestion - including a steemconnect delegation link can make it easier for willing people to act immediately on this call for action.

I believe this app should receive delegation from Steemit, Inc.

I would love to see that as it would really give the project momentum, without delegation I wont be able to reward content to the extent that we will create a critical mass.

The encumbents here are Google, Yelp and Tripadvisor. The ambitions for this app are to take Steem as a platform out to the wider public but without a critical mass of unique content (reviews in the major cities at least) it will be a hard sell.
I will to do some market research in the coming weeks to the general public in Dublin to see what it would take for them to try out a Steem App that rewards them for posting reviews. I have already filled the app with my favourite places in Dublin so at least there is a base :) but delegation would really help the message.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 93 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Really great article
It's very tasty food
I wish you all the best

Great I hope you try out the app and let me know what you think ;)

I have face this problem before in my country when i was traveling inside my country...and problem to take right decision to eat or find some restaurant or cafe...

I hope you add a few places to the app to help out other travellers ;)

wow very tasty food, good food, good health, nice and great post @eroche

may I suggest the picture isnt just squares , but it can be landscape or potrait sometimes. because sometimes the picture is partially cut.

I have started using the app to post reviews of places i visit or have visited recently. I will look at the example you have shared to see how i can improve my reviews. I think generally there is a need to have better review system and hopefully @letseat it the answer.

P.S. just went through the example as it was a quick read. Will try and make my reviews more personal going forward.

Your reviews are awesome, really informative already.

There are no rules here, so whatever works for you, I have just highlighted an example to give people an idea of what they can do to get going with the app. The reality is there will be a variety all of which will bring unique perspectives.

Keep Let's Eating 😉 and thanks for using the app.

Glad you liked them. I actually enjoy doing these reviews. Its news so i can help in building the content on the app, and the format allows for creativity in reviews. Great app!

Cool and we want to build features into the app that makes it easier for people to use so feel free to let us know what you think especially about features you would like to see. It may be a while before we integrate noticeable improvements but we are building up to our full launch sometime next year.

One thing that i feel can be added is 'cuisine' - either manual entry or drop down list. Also, may be also have the option of post code based restaurant search and not only location.

Also 'third space' in canary wharf is a gym, not a restaurant - the app shows it as a place to eat. I don't know who to tell this to.

I will let you know more suggestions as i use the app more.

That's an awesome concept, will try out the app at once, and maybe write a review, when i get the chance....

Fantastic. 👍

@eroche You have received a 100% upvote from @qualitycentral because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95