Things I have learnt since turning 20

in #lessons5 years ago

I’m almost 20 and a half years old now. I haven’t seen a lot of life yet but I have gathered my two cents along the way, which I thought might be worth sharing:

  1. Family matters – You never know when the grim reaper comes calling for a dance either from you or from one of your loved ones. Take a moment to at least think about them each day. Their presence in our lives matter a lot. A call once a week goes a long way. Besides, they are guaranteed to extend a helping hand whenever we are in need

  2. Adulthood is real. The nights of endless fun will at some point simmer down to a halt and everyone I know will soon be too busy making (or trying to make) a living to spare some extra hours for a Tuesday night drink. This in mind, I’ll soon be making decisions whose consequences will directly impact my life, leaving my drinking buddies out of the picture. I am learning how to make any and all decisions wisely. However, I still cherish my buddies and the great moments we’ve had, and I’ll be down for a beer when I’m free.

  3. The internet and social media are good examples of a never ending rabbit hole. Once you are on the Instagram explore page or on a Twitter trend, it only ends when you get bored. This means hours of doing nothing, otherwise known as being counterproductive at your work. Learn how to use them in moderation. FOCUS!

  4. Speaking of focus, avoid the shiny things. With Generation Z, everyone lives great on Instagram. ‘You’re not living unless you’re living the 4 hour work week life, working on a beach while sipping Moet till kingdom comes.’ Sounds great, but don’t fall for it. Stay on your path unless there is a better one (not one that looks better).

  5. Learn to take care of yourself. No one fends for an grown person.

  6. Utilize the power of choice. Part of life is a chain of choices made in the past. He who controls the past controls the future, he who controls the present controls the past.

  7. Savor the youth before it is gone :) We won’t have this stamina for long so we shall have to be excused as we hit the road and have some fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16