So what is "LensBall"?

in #lensball7 years ago (edited)

First of all, I hope you've been enjoying this series of photos. It's been really fun so far, and the images it produces - in my humble opinion - are really eye-catching.

The first question that I (and many others) asked when looking at this is:

"What makes this glass sphere different than the ones you see people using for contact juggling?"

Source

And to answer that question is the information on the "About" page on LensBall.com:

Making photos through a glass ball is nothing new. For quite a while we saw photos popping up on Instagram from photographers using glass contact-juggling-, or medical healing balls to shoot their artwork through. We tried to buy them ourselves and came to the conclusion that everything out there was either very expensive, or far from perfect. Glass balls were often not perfectly round, had air bubbles, and got easily damaged. Acrylic contact-juggling balls were lightweight, but got scratched very easily and always resulted in blurry photos. We found a way to make perfectly round balls out of square blocks of hardened crystal, by using a large sequence of special grinding and polishing techniques. The result is a stunning sphere that everyone wants to hold, and that has the same optic quality as professional camera lenses. It's a work of art, and we are proud to share it with the world!

The cost for one of these LensBalls depends on the size you choose.

I have the Pro, and that's what you've been seeing in my images. It's just a bit larger than a billiard ball.

And of course, be sure to exercise safety when handling this thing. It's a fire hazard if left out in the wrong place and exposed to sunlight, so you have to treat it as if it's a lit candle and put it away when not in use. In fact, they make a point to include this in their product FAQ:



I'm still just exploring the creative possibilities with this little guy, but so far I'm loving the results.



Sort:  

Love the photos. I think this would be a great gift for a friend of mine.

Wow that is very interesting Winston... I saw the pic you put out yesterday and loved it... And now I see the story of how you do it and the backstory to the glass balls. (even something like the firehazard is interesting) :)

All of your work is amazing, I can see how you are having so much fun!

Thanks for posting it and giving the story behind the magic :)

really cool, glass ball is very different from other balls ..! I am interested in this one game😁😁👍👍 thank you for sharing, if you have time can see my blog. @winstonwolfe

Very nice! I did not know that

Looks cool and not to expensive! Might get one!

Wow, this is very spectacular! How much does it cost? I want one! :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62899.90
ETH 2688.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56