#2 On Martin Place with Leica M10

in #leica7 years ago (edited)

Working in the City of Sydney, Australia, I can just get out on the street and take picture in the morning, during lunch and in the evening. I switch off the burden of work, and concentrate on photography.

I love a stroll along the historical GPO building near Martin Place, to observe people walking by. It is about keeping my mind and heart still, and waiting for the right moment.

These are some of the first photos I took with my M10. It is new to me, so I consider I am learning rangefinder photography with it.

'Couple on Martin Place'
M1000112LRST - Couple on Martin Place.jpg
Leica M10, APO Summicron 75/2, F2, 1/60s, ISO 640 All rights reserved.

This couple storm past me, I turned and catched them in the brief moment. Didn't get to increase the shutter speed but I quite like the motion and feel captured. I think if I take more of this type of street photo, I need to set my shutter speed a bit higher on this focal length.

'Right Here Waiting'
M1000119LRST - Right here waiting.jpg
Leica M10, APO Summicron 75/2, F2, 1/60s, ISO 2000 All rights reserved.

On the image above, an elegant lady is waiting for her partner to arrive before heading into the Hotel. The graceful silhouette is seen along the colonnade perspective, I carefully framed it with the architectural upright. The subject receiving both natural indirect light from the right and diffused artificial highlight from above. A memorable moment captured with the longing emotion. I wish I walked towards her to have her larger in the picture. I am learning to do without a zoom lens.

The response time on the Leica M10 is good. I am used to the Olympus E-M1, meaning that before the M10 I enjoyed the luxury of autofocus, in body stabilization and a lot of camera intelligence. With the Leica M, the machine seems to be an extension of my eyes, and through the lens I have more direct relationship with the picture than my other cameras. I enjoy this process very much.

:hinting
All rights reserved.

Sort:  

The light in that second shot is very very good, you needed just a half step to the left to isolate her from the table in the background though. Still a great shot though.

Thanks for you comment. I think if I get closer to the lady, the table will be more out of focus, and she will be isolated better.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hinting to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34