Calling All Lego Stackers!

in #lego6 years ago

@brickmanbrad wants to bring the #lego tag to life on Steem! If you haven't seen it yet, he is running a contest. I missed the original contest post and so did you, but luckily for us the contest is extended. This is my entry.

Let's Jump In, Shall We?

I have a seven-year old boy, so Legos are important in my home. Did you know that Legos can be bought and sold by weight, and their value per pound (or kg, what have you) is quite stable? Keep that in mind, stackers of precious metals and other commodities. If civilization should fall, I would still value Lego highly. If I had food, water, security, and communication, Lego would probably be next.

Sadly, the photo above is not of my own collection. It was taken at the Legoland hotel. If you've ever stepped on a Lego, you might cringe at the idea of jumping into a moat of them. I can tell you it's not very comfortable, but in bulk it's far better than catching a single one under your foot. The pressure distributes, like one of those walking on coals things.

Time To Build

I have a 42 year old boy, too 😁

Have you noticed a new energy around here? I have! Maybe it's @steemcommunity's initiative to build 250 minnows per month until the total number of minnows reaches 10,000. Maybe it's @theycallmedan's commitment to this blockchain, showing his support through constructive posts, large delegations, and random substantial awards to engaged Steemians. Maybe it's the @steemalliance providing leadership and support to any and all Steemians ready to take on the challenge of bringing Steem into the mainstream. It could be that Steem currently has the top 4 dapps in the world ranked by daily active users, or just the general sense that crypto is about to start growing again. What does this have to do with Lego? Building. You have all the pieces you need. It's time to build.

No Instruction Manuals?

Whenever we get a new Lego set, we always build it according to the instructions. But except for special sets like the Saturn 5 rocket, most eventually are disassembled for parts. My son @zacktime's favorite way to play is to build huge elaborate battle scenes, like the one above. Master Builders don't need instructions.

There is a metaphor for Steem here, too. Are you put off by the lack of instructions around here? Wondering what makes a "minnow", and why that is something worth building? That's understandable. There are resources out there (the article linked above and its author, @paulag, are a good place to start) - but there is no centralized set of instructions. This is by design. On Steem, people build what they want. Sometimes it comes together great, and sometimes it doesn't. But always, we learn by building.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Ha ha! I had no idea that lego could be sold and bought by weight! And that it was a stable source of value! I should trade some silver in for these colourful hedges against collapse!

Jumping into a pool of Lego! That is going to be a world of pain though...

This is not financial advice... but yeah I've checked prices and they don't go down for the bulk pieces.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post, and thankyou for your support. Good luck in the contest :)

Great pic! Great year for a husband, lol I am also 42! We also will enter this contest!

Funny story a buddy of mine was asked on a lego livestream if his bricklink store would accept bitcoin. He had said no that’s dead. I was quick to mention that it was just Mt. Gox that was dead and explained how it hurt BTC but did not kill it!! I told him he should accept it and possibly buy some to hold. It was really fun over the next few years on the run up to 20k! Still dead? I would ask. Don’t you wish you bought some! 😂😂oh and the occasional, I told you so!!
He said that all his extra cash goes into LEGO and how liquid it is, I really couldn’t argue with him on that! Me personally I wish I bought a little less LEGO those years and more BTC!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't believe for a minute that Bitcoin is dead. It's taking a nap. It's about at the value where I first bought it, so yeah I do wish we had bought some back when we first heard of it and it jumped up to $800 - "too expensive!" 😫😨
Lego isn't gonna moon, but I don't see it crashing, either (and of course I mean physical Lego, not the company shares which I don't follow).

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea me either! I’m a long term hodler and accumulating more! Not currently accumulating LEGO, but we will again here soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 11.24% upvote from us for your 2272 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Cool, I'm going to check out the contest! As for new energy... Hate to say it, but I think it is linked to price...

do you know my boy never got into lego, but I have stood on it and boy does it hurt.

Great post and thank you for the shout out

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81