Sorting bricks

in #lego6 years ago

Every lego fan has a collection of loose bricks and pieces. You can watch and join hours of streams where Fans of Lego are sorting thier parts. The question is how do you start to sort all those pieces?

0426180A-B23E-4977-B740-4C933196ABEB.jpeg 1 type of storage system for sorting.

The answer can be as complex as the number of ways you can put those blocks together. However there are 3 basic schools of thought. You can separate by type of brick, you can seperate by color or you seperate by size.
Most fans of Lego use some combination of these and the most organized use color and type.

5EEBA583-F4CA-40E5-8949-9661DBBD28AF.jpeg Bulk Lego that needs to be sorted.

I seperate my Lego using size for all the smaller parts but I have seperated all my bricks, (2x2, 2x4, etc) by color. It helps me determine how large I can go if building something with a specific color. I personally think it is up to the fan on what style works best.

Another factor to consider when sorting lego is how much space do I have? Space is going to determine what will work best for you as far as types of storage containers and what method to use.

4E8FDCCC-D6AD-4969-8393-D690685745A2.jpeg Fishing tackle containers work great for storing small parts and Minifigures.

The last question you should ask is does your storage need to be mobile. I use smaller containers for sorting so they can easily be moved depending on where I am building.

As you can see sorting can be as complex or as simple as you want to make it. But I hope this has at least helped you on your Lego journey in getting organized.

Sort:  

I prefer to sort by part. It's easier to find a black 1 x 1 brick in a pile of 1 x 1 bricks than in a pile of black bricks

Thanks for the input. Part of me wants to put all the 1x1 black bricks in the same container but that is not always the practical solution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75