Soon I'll be Able to Buy Pot at the Liquor Store

in #legalweed6 years ago (edited)

58684301.jpg

Most of you probably heard Canada is gearing up to decriminalize marijuana. The overwhelming majority of Canadian citizens are in agreement that a harmeless plant shouldn't be made illegal.

Well the government is moving to legalize weed and now they're just working out the kinks..

Legal age in my province of Nova Scotia has been set at 19 years, the same age as drinking.

After much debate, it's been announced the provinces liquor stores (NSLC) will be tasked with the distribution because they already have the controls in place to sell controlled substances. In addition to the brick and mortar stores their will also be certified online sales to boot.

B97746218Z.120171208203008000GSEJ77QI.11.jpg

This is so great! I don't smoke weed that much anymore, I used to wake and bake and go all day but I've calmed down a bit now in my old age 😛 The fact I can just go to my nearest liquor store and buy a bitta pot if I want is just so liberating.

marijuana-tmx-meetings.jpg

Some are complaining that marijuana will be taxed, which could make the price of a few grams more than we're used to paying on the black market, that's a pretty lame argument in my opinion. Fact is, this is one tax I won't mind paying, the province will make tens of millions of dollars a year and some of that money will be well used I'm sure.

To not have to wait around all day or travel to sketchy drug dealers houses makes the tiny tax well worth paying for me.

image (1).jpg

Now I will know the hours of operation for my nearest NSLC and that is when I can re-up. The quality of the cannabis will be top notch and controlled, possibly by blockchain technology from seed to store.

I've got a few good connects now but I really don't know what pesticides have been used in my product? Even though the dealer may tell me it's organic, I don't really know that it is. I've also bought weed before and it's had mould in it, not good.

Another great thing about the decriminalization of cannabis will be the fact scientists and health professionals will now have the freedom to study the positive effects that marijuana can have. Before it was very hard for them to conduct their research because the product was illegal. I'm sure big pharma is quaking in its boots because alot of people know marijuana can replace alot of those pills their quick to push on everyone. Pot is pretty much harmeless and we've all seen the side effects of every pill!

I don't see anything bad about our country legalizing pot, some claim it will make more kids want to start smoking it but that's horseshit. Kids smoke the hell out of it now and the dealers we're used to buying it from sell alot of other far worse drugs aswell. I imagine older brothers and adult friends will now be going to the liquor store to buy them pot the same way we got older kids to buy us alcohol before we were of age. That's alot better than meeting a sketchy dealer that has no issues pushing other drugs on the younger kids.

bbarticleharvestiming-resized.jpg

Oh this is such great news, I'm proud of my country for taking this step! Can't wait for this time next year 🙌


Pictures courtesy of CBC.ca


Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

U5drXbkie6zPRb5oB7BRTdSUeewiCTW_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Will you import from the Philippines if you have not much? President Duterte is pro-medical marijuana.
@rebeccaryan

I should be ok my friend 😁 #steemph in the house!

Hahaha so true😎

@immarojas Then Pres D. changed his mind recently?

He's always been pro-medical marijuana from the start :)

Medical purposes🤣

I should have noted I read citizens will be legally allowed to grow up to four plants if they choose. I won't, growing weed is hard work, I did it before when it was illegal..I'll happily pay for someone else to grow me some top tier ganja! 😁

You're right, growing is hard work. I would happily do it for you :D

Interesting we dont have government run liquor stores so they will have to be private in Alberta. Thank god when I lived in Ontario it was always a long drive to the lcbo that had shit hours. I have a liquor store on each side of my building having sales to compete. I think government run alcohol or weed stores is bad business and private enterprise will do it better.

@goldenarms Stinky Buds !!!

Can almost smell it thru the screen eh? Lol

Down here in the U.S., a hand full of states have legalized sale of marijuana for personal and/or medical use. Unfortunately, it is still illegal on the federal level. I salute your progressive government and their forward looking policy.

Yeah our govt finally did something good. It's to make money tho, they want that added tax revenue

True that. Colorado gained $506 million tax revenue from 2014 to May of this year, and $1 BILLION in sales from January to August.

Join the party canada! 😀

It's about dam time my friend. Now I won't be a criminal when I smoke a j to relax 😎

That last picture is making my mouth water. . :)

Yeah that's that purple funk, healthy looking girls aren't they? 😎

Fo' Shizzle! :)

I will miss the Occasional Canadian that I meet here in Denver that visit just to buy marijuana. My plan to take a break of pot and exchange it for maple syrup seems to be a failed idea.

Hopefully this relaxation will go global.
It's been around for 5000 years, only "illegal" for ~30/40 !

But I do wonder re price...... surely the price will DROP ?
Black market is usually more expensive for stuff /risks etc
So unless the stores are planning to make a huge profit?
A little tax won't make any difference.

Progressive laws! I look forward to the day that happens here in Kenya. I know we currently have such a motion in parliament 🤞🤞

Thanks for the update @goldenarms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99