You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Day My Father Died :: A Reflection

in #legacy6 years ago

It's a strange thing when you really think about it.

The seemingly random events of life. I don't believe they're random at all. I believe that they all have purpose, even when we can't see the big picture or notice any patterns in the mesh of chaotic scribbles that connect one to another.

I'm sitting at home, reading your post about your father - who I've never met. Why? Because one day, I went into a discord channel. Felt completely out of place. But right before I left, Rhonda made me feel welcome. A few minutes later, a man was joking with me about bacon.

Random. And now - here I am.... finding more about my friend through the reflection of his father. And I'm appreciative of the memories that you shared, and the emotions that you penned, and the honor that you gave your father by memorializing him.

Looking at the picture of your father with his granddaughter - it's special.

Thank you for sharing your life, @negativer. I treasure it :)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the personal insight @dreemsteem. It's always a weird thing to have any kind of impact on someone you've never met, whom you only know via intangible electronic methods. From my recent steemit meetups, I've realized that connection is just as legitimate as any made via 'traditional' means.

I agree that things are connected in some invisible way. It's like a mesh that lays over everything (or maybe a bowl of spaghetti dumped on the floor). Everything touches everything else, but none of us can see the pattern or know it, we can only guess at it.

Thank you for reading :)

Agree! Sometimes.... I would even venture to say that the connection made online can be much stronger....sometimes! The "real world" connections can have a lot more masks, ironically! But sometimes the "safety and distance" of the internet can cause us to feel more comfortable to share things that we might not IRL.
It allows some people to see more of what's truly in our hearts and minds, and..... deeper connections can result.
Doesn't always happen, but when it does, it's special
Hope someday I can meet you IRL! ☀️ Have a beautiful day my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36