LED Grow Lights are Inexpensive: How to Quickly Convert a Screw-In LED Lamp to a Grow Light

in #led7 years ago

A 15 watt Screw-In Replacement LED Bulb

can be quickly turned into a grow light for cannabis or other plants. This 15 watt lamp is an LED replacement for a 100 watt incandescent light bulb. Once the globe is removed, it will provide enough light for a 10" circle of vegetation, at about 10 inches away. Cannabis is a plant which requires high amounts of light, many vegetables and herbs require much less light. You would be able to use fewer lights, spaced further apart.
Screw-In-LED-Replacement.JPG

Currently Around $6USD

These lamps can be quickly converted to a grow lamp and are simply screwed in to a normal lamp socket. The main task is to remove the plastic globe/lens, so the LEDs can shine directly on the plants.

Screw in the LED and Turn it On

so that it heats up the base. Like compact flourescent lamps, the base of the lamp is a ballast and heats up during use. The Globe is either plastic or glass and will be glued to the base. Heat softens the glue, allowing you to easily pry the globe off.

Grab a Potholder and a Double Handled Corkscrew

like this one.
double-handle-corkscrew.JPG
It has a pointy tip, as you can see here
corkscrew-tip.JPG

Once the Base of the Lamp is Hot

unscrew it, using the hot pad, and hold it against a heat proof table top. Jam the corkscrew tip between the base and globe, making sure there's no danger if you slip.
corkscrew-globe-removal.JPG

Once the Tip Is Between the Base and Globe

gently lever the globe away from the base. At this point, it may help to use a second tool to hold open the gap. Work your way around the globe, slowly prying the glue apart. Once you're done you'll have a globe which looks like this.
Removed-LED-Globe-Plastic.JPG

Your Grow Light is Finished

GE-LED-face.JPG
Each of the little yellow squares is a piece of COB LED, or Cree On Board LED. Count the number of squares and divide them by the wattage of the lamp. This is the approximate wattage of each little LED.

You Can Find More Information

on icmag.com, in their Micro Grows sub-forum. There is also substantial information on building your own LED lights from off the shelf parts. :)

Sort:  

That's pretty cool.

Thanks :)

I thought so too and figured I'd share. I'm also working on a long-flowering sativa cabinet, powered by these led's. Always wanted to get a high quality, 6 month flowering time, sativa and never had the space for it.

Now I can put it in a cabinet, in the corner of a room, and the rest of my grows continue as before. :)

Be Awesome!

For a short time I had converted my tv stand into a cabinet. My thought was with tv on no one will notice the fan noise and they didn't. I used cfls

Awesome!

Do you happen to remember the strain you grew and/or how it turned out? :) Great idea, with the TV cabinet. LED's are a bit different than the CFL's, though I've grown with those before as well. :)

When I finish the long flowering sativa cabinet I'll make sure to post up pictures of the build process. :)

It was wineberry kush. I still have a few of the seeds. Some bs happened and I had to get rid of them before they finished 😭. I posted a pic when I first started on steemit I'll see if it's still on my computer when I get home.

Sucks to not finish, been there, had to do that. :(

Miiiiiiiicrooo Groooooowwwww ;)

Wow man, building your own LED lamps (Especially for clones and babies) is very cool. Great guide.

1 copy 2.png

Thank You

Glad you appreciate it. I now have 90 watts (6 lights) being used to veg plants. They LOVE it! :D

Upvoted by our Cannabis Curation Team, the transientflowers cannabis curation project!

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Helping to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!


Last Update: Logo/Signature contest 20 SBD prize pool

Phillips 8.5w 800 Lumen 2700K LED 16-Pack From Amazon

I picked up a pack of these a few weeks ago and I'm VERY impressed with the quality. Almost every single globe came off easily, with only one refusing to let go. lol They used 8 1'ish watt cobs on the face, as you can see here


phillips-8-5watt-16-1w-cobs.png

I'm Using These in My Vegetative Cabinet

and loving it! :)

Go Be Awesome! :D

love this macgyer shit

Glad You Could Enjoy

I was delightfully surprised myself when I saw this done for the first time. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44