Crosby, Stills & Nash ...

in #leatherart6 years ago

Hello everyone, for my next post I will share with you the newest order to arrive on my desk. A guitar strap for a fella who has everything. He is a Crosby, Stills & Nash fan ... big time!

Crosby, stills & Nash.jpg

So, I have the logo plotted out in pencil onto the leather and added what i hope is a complimentary Celtic knot design, which depicts trinity, with some artistic license to make it fit the space.

IMG_20180412_091321.jpg

Sorry for the slightly wonky image, as long as you get the gist. Before I tool the design, I have to set about cutting the shape out really carefully and tidying up all the edges. It then falls to me to immerse the leather in water, til the bubbles stop, take it out and place onto a piece of natural fabric until the water is totally absorbed and the surface is no longer shiny. My next task is the tooling which I do with my 30 year old dremel engraver, making sure one approached the picture from the correct angle to create the 3D effect that this process gives.

My bliss is this part, and I have done it since the mid seventies when I was a very young mother. I love the whole Art on Leather concept, it is such an incredibly malleable medium with which to play. If you like what I do please follow my links to my previous projects, I have a website of my old work with mostly shoes: http:/www.fairyfeet.co.za and I am obtainable on Facebook on my group: https://www.facebook.com/natwoodonsea/?ref=bookmarks
I go under the name of Haughty Culture, send me a message if you want to friend me to chat about my work.

Peace & Love & Blessed be.

@artzone

#leatherwork, #leathercraft #leather art

#leather

@steemladder

#NewToSteem

Sort:  

That's a cool job! It will be interesting to watch this creation unfold...

thank you kind Sir :D

Curios nice and still young

no young alas, but you should just see the guitar!! Cassimi, with inlay by Matthew Rice by luthier Roux, wowzers!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fairyfeet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=crosby-stills-and-nash


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98