Steampunk leather journal

in #leather7 years ago

I have been focusing on crafting re-usable leather journals, and this most recent creation of mine has been so fun to make! Steampunk gears, rivets and a snap to keep it all nice and tidy inside.

SteampunkJournal.jpg

It started out as a raw piece of vegetable tanned leather, which I then cut with a swivel knife, to have the gear and scroll pattern. SteampunkJournalRaw.jpg

Next I used a variety of beveling tools to smash down the area inside the gears. This took about 3 hours to get just how I wanted it.

SteampunkJournalCloseUp.jpg

SteampunkJournalCloseUp2.jpg

After all the beveling was done, I used some special dye-resist on parts of the journal in the hopes of achieving a 'wood grain' effect and then dyed it a warm brown color. Lastly for the color, I sealed the dye so it won't ruin the coloring. Two rivets were added in the corners. I had originally intended for all the circles to be rivets, but I liked the simplicity of the two rivets.

SteampunkJournalCloseUp3.jpg

I sewed two inside pockets to hold the cover of the journal into place and finished it off with a simple strap and snap to keep it closed. Ta-da! My own take on a wooden, steampunk journal that can be reused!

SteampunkJournal2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @leathertinker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you! I'm still in the learning phase; I'll definitely check out the SteemitBoard. :D

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! It was a bit rough getting started, but I’m looking forward to the challenge. 👍🏼

As a bit of welcome (and the fact that I've wanted to try it myself) I've signed you up for a share in @steembasicincome. We'll see how it goes.

I'm doing my best to figure all this out - thanks for signing me up. I'm not sure what that means yet, but like I said, I'm trying to figure it out. :)

Long story short, it'll just vote on your posts on a regular basis once we get processed forever. The size of the vote is dependant on the number of shares. In this case we both have 1.

stunning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67358.72
ETH 2619.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68