What are the best resources/techniques you've found for learning German?

in #learninggerman7 years ago (edited)

So I come from a German lineage, and in addition to that have a great interest in the language, however I've never been fluent in speaking. I learnt it at school several years ago, but then it fell away while I was concentrating on other matters.

Now I've got some spare time again, I want to learn but seem to struggle to get some consistency. I have found a good podcast, and also a learning app, which I spend a couple of nights on a week. I've also tried watching films with German audio/subtitles, however it's difficult to pick up the rapid speech, even in children's films, since my hearing level is not up to the standard of my reading level.

I've also got a couple of German novels, however this is quite an intimidating thought at having to sit and translate every word for several hundred pages and even then I have no idea if the tranlsation is correct.

What I'd like to know is whether anyone has any useful tips/resources/techniques for learning German (or languages in general) that you think may be of use?

I may document my journey into learning a language depending on how it goes. I hope that some German speakers out there will give me a hand along the way!

Sort:  

I use Duolingo and highly recommend it. I'm about half way through the Spanish course, and it has been very good so far. If you do join Duo, look me up there as FinnianGC. It helps to have friends to compete against for points. ;-)

My original surname was Koester, and my father is 50% German. I changed my surname to take on my mother's father's name. He died in WWII with my mother as his only child. Since I'm one of 7, I figured my brothers have Koester covered. I want to further my grandfather's name as well.

Congratulations @cabledglass! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cabledglass! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46