You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What did you learn today?

in #learning6 years ago

First off, I love your parents' new home! What a wonderful, peaceful setting!

And I'm impressed by your focus on continued learning. That has never injured or wasted the time of anyone and is the best brain-stimulator you will ever find.

I was a coder (once) and loved the logic challenges that came up from time to time (usually when I had no time at all to be delayed by unexpected "learning opportunities". Later, I was on a long-term systems design project that focused my attention on combining diverse applications.

Anyway, I thought that was a good time to learn bookbinding because it was something I had always been curious about. Once I started learning the steps and building a press and stringing frames, it became my main focus and the computer project was just something I did to pay the bills. The actual physical manipulation of building honest-to-goodness bound books with my hands was the best therapy I could have found.

There is still more to learn about everything and I'm doing a refresher run-through on calculus courses on KhanAcademy.com while I have my early morning cups of tea. Too much to learn and too little time available to learn it all!

Will

Sort:  

Thanks Will. It sounds like you've done a really interesting range of things. I'm a huge fan of Khan Academy - I've just finished their HTML/CSS course and now looking at starting the JS one. I agree - there's never enough time!

I can't claim to use my little educational side trips to full advantage, but I do learn a lot about a variety of (useless, but fun) things. I probably will never use the calculus - not that I ever have since college - but at least it reminds me of why I spent so much time preparing for those two courses!

I like your focus on continuing education. It's interesting and certainly most people could benefit from.

Keep on Steemin'!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66134.08
ETH 3556.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13