~~~

in #learning6 years ago

20180307_113204.png

Hello to everyone who is reading this! :)
I finally have the time to make a small post about a topic that is really dear to me. I wanted to share my views on how to get good at something or in general how to be successful with the things you do in life.
Just a little disclaimer: I have very little experience in the world of working and earning money. That is why I won't say what I write here will totally work out for everyone. It is just my way of doing things and what worked for me in my (now already) 20 years of life.

The moment you know you want to learn a certain skill or have an idea for a future project or anything like that it is important to know that success won't come over night. It needs to be worked on quite a lot. For example if you want to learn a new language you need to learn the grammar and most of all a lot of vocabs ( I am trying to learn French right now and let me tell you, I am struggling quite a lot :D ). All of this takes a long time to really get it into your brain but it is a necessity for reaching your goals.

You have to be willing to make some time to work on your personal project.


Another thing is that everyone of us naturally has a limited amount of time each day to work towards your goals. That is why I find it important to structure your day in a way that allows you to do everything you have to do while still having time to work towards your own goals. This often means you have to prioritize certain things over others. You have to know how important your goal is to you. Is it something you want to pursue as a career or is it something like a hobby? For example at the moment I am trying to learn how to draw faces but since drawing is just a hobby of mine I have other things that are more important to do in a day.


Be aware of what you want to achieve with your project.


What also works out for me if I work on a more creative outlet is that I play around in the beginning so I know where my skilllevel is at the moment. After that I start structuring my practice a little more. Otherwise if it is a project where I have to prepare a presentation or learn for an important test in school or university I brainstorm in the beginning and after that I start researching about the topic. I also would totally recommend to NOT to plan everything from the beginning. I always feel like this takes away from the creative freedom but this may be just a personal preference. The most improtant thing for me is to take the first step and just start. Overthinking your project or idea won't help and often the first step is the most difficult to take. Don't be discouraged if things don't work out in the beginning; everything is the most difficult when you start it.


Do not be afraid of failure on your way of learning something new.


Now the most important thing for me personally is to keep going and making practice a habit. As a German saying goes ''Nothing results from nothing''. Keep your work up. Invest that time in what you want to achieve and believe in yourself that you are capable of whatever you are dreaming of. DOn't compare yourself to others and see people who are better than you in this certain are as an inspiration and try to not see their skilllevel as something daunting and discouraging. It might take a lot of work, it might tke a lot of patience but in the end all that effort will be worth it. Especially after the first few times working on your project, when the motiation from the beginning fades away it can be really difficult to stay on track. What always helps me to find some sources of inspiration. People that achieved what you are working on or whatever it is that originally inspired you to start. Concentrate on those things to spark that motivation from the start again, be determined to succeed and enjoy the process of learning.


''The master has failed more times than the beginner has even tried'' ~ Stephen McCranie

~





I really hope this post helps some of you or you found it interesting. What is it that you do to achieve your goals and how do you maintain you motivation? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75