Tips Learning to be patient

in #learning7 years ago

 

You have to breathe deeply and count to ten slowly before answering or doing something you can regret, "my husband said a month ago, clearly alluding to my tendency to lose patience in the traffic jams that make me arrive Late to an important appointment, when I do not get the things I want, or do not go out in time or the way I expect them, when the telemarketer of any service has me hanging hours and hours without solving my problem, In the supermarket box. The sentence shook me, to the point of leading me to reflect on how to be patient with these and other everyday situations.

Over time I decided that, at least in my case, being patient did not have to take it to the letter. Breathing not to lose patience could turn into other verbs: to enjoy, to enjoy and to taste. I can not say that I conjugate these verbs every day, but at least I can attest to having internalized the importance of learning how to do it.

Since then I have been able to identify rituals that have helped me to use creativity and turn the moments of waiting into useful moments and prevent them from reacting with desperation. In the traffic I tune the radio or listen to a good record that awakens my feelings and invites me to remember. In this situation of stress, music generates serenity, balance and rest. 

When things do not go as I expect or the teleoperator does not solve my problem, instead of despairing I have learned to stay calm and concentrate my attention and effort in accepting, solving and speeding up. I stop complaining and wonder: how can I solve it?

When I make a long queue in the supermarket I start to exchange words with my neighbor to complain precisely of the slow progress, the lack of organization, provoking a feeling of coexistence even being dissatisfied.

I also repeat a beautiful prayer "God, give me serenity to accept things that I can not change; Courage to change the things I can; And wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time. " (Reinhold Niebuhr, 1943).

 The list, without a doubt, is personal; But it is not bad to share some tips to try to help the other in the task of being patient. Then try to breathe, to be flexible and slow down to regain the calm that allows you to act and feel in a better way. Surely it is easier said than done.

Remember that patience consists in not losing control, knowing how to wait and accept, gathering the strength necessary to always look for the positive side of each situation, which allows you to cope with thousands of moments of waiting every day or to live life with peace of mind.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71